The Legend of Heroes ~ Sora no Kiseki SC OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: NW10102680
Released On: July 14, 2006
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Yukihiro Jindo, Kohei Wada
Published By: Falcom
Recorded At: PRESSTONE
Format: 2 CDs, Digital
Buy this album from iTunes

Disc One
01 - Silver Will, Golden Wings Game Opening Version
02 - Welcome to Le Locle
03 - Strepitoso Fight
04 - Fight with Assailant
05 - I Feel Like I Could Dance with the Wind SC ver.
06 - Obstructive Existence
07 - Feeling Danger Nearby
08 - Looking Up at the Sky
09 - Conspiracy
10 - If You Can't Beat Them...
11 - Visions
12 - The Dream Continues
13 - A Lurking Shadow in the Wilderness
14 - Enormous Fright
15 - Infiltration
16 - Heartless Surprise Attack
17 - The Flying Battleship Glorius
18 - Etude of the Ruin
19 - God's Plan
20 - Hamel
21 - Looming Threat
22 - The Fate of the Fairies
23 - Where the Stars Are Instrumental Ver.
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - The Hidden True Form
02 - The Enforcers
03 - Fateful confrontation
04 - The Great Treasure Set Loose
05 - Town of No Light
06 - Silver Will Super Arrange Version
07 - For the Favor of the Goddess
08 - Broken Wings
09 - Floating City Liber Arc
10 - Aiming for That Future
11 - Central Tower [Access Pillar]
12 - A Gravestone Struck by Lightning
13 - The Truth Behind the Tragedy
14 - Outskirts of Evolution
15 - The Merciless Savior
16 - Back to Your Friends
17 - A Wish's Whereabouts
18 - Where the Bonds Are
19 - I swear...
20 - Shine of Eidos ~Tracks in the Sky~
21 - Silver Will, Golden Wings
Total Time:

The Legend of Heroes VI ~ Sora no Kiseki was a huge success for Falcom, not in terms of sales, but in terms of quality music. I loved the soundtrack for it, and it's awesome to hear the same quality music from the recent Ys titles found on Falcom's other staple RPG series.

"SC" (Second Chapter) takes the path of Final Fantasy X-2 as an intentionally direct sequel. I was concerned that the music on this album wouldn't come out as well as the Sora no Kiseki's First Chapter (known these days as "FC"). After many listens, my complete comparative analysis leaves me with the conclusion that, indeed, the First Chapter had a better soundtrack. Fortunately, this doesn't diminish the value of "SC" in any way.

The OST was released as a two disc set. Disc One is pretty good. There are some wonderful techno-ish themes that remind me of Ys VI: The Ark of Napishtim's music (such as "The Depth Napishtim"). Some examples of this fast-paced fun music include "Heartless Surprise Attack" and "The Fate of the Fairies." Other tracks, such as 13 and 17, have a more majestic and imperial sound, but without boring the listener.

Disc Two is plain awesome. The first five tracks are all enormously good: good enough to be considered high-quality arranges on their own. Then, on track six, we actually do get an arranged track. The Super Arrange Version of Silver Will (Gin no Ishi) was lifted right off of LoH VI Super Arrange Version and put on this OST. The song is straight beauty mixed with smooth pop drum loops; I'm not sure, but I may prefer it over the opening vocal version of the song.

The next track, "For the Favor of the Goddess," has loads of choral goodness reminiscent of the choir found on Symphonic Fantasy White Witch.

I could literally continue this track-by-track review to the end of disc two: every song is wildly impressive. My favorites on this disc were all sampled, and again, I loved the techno-ish sounds of songs like "Aiming for That Future," hearkening back to some of the cooler tracks from disc one.

I don't know why it took me so long to realize how much I liked this album. It grew on me stronger than any other Falcom OST I've ever listened to, and as such I strongly, strongly recommend it to you Falcom fans (even the jaded ones who gave up on the company after Ys IV). I only hope Falcom can keep up the good work.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

May 26: TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Golden Sun w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Final Fantasy VIII w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Golden Sun w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Trails of Cold Steel (Nightmare Mode) w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Final Fantasy XIV Online w/Scott • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Review

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Retro Review
Nightshade Review


Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 12 - 5/17/2019

Crowdfunding Chronicles Volume 12 - 5/17/2019

Random Encounter 164: Farming Materia

Random Encounter 164: Farming Materia

Retro Encounter 188: How Did This Get Made: Pokemon: Detective Pikachu

Retro Encounter 188: How Did This Get Made: Pokemon: Detective Pikachu