RPGFan Discord Server

Music From The Legend of Xanadu II
Catalog Number: KICA-1165/6
Released On: August 23, 1995
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Tomohiko Kishimoto
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Passage of Ocean
02 - Misfortune Hunch
03 - Peaceful Enclosure
04 - Acquisition
05 - Pleasant Estimation
06 - Scattered Islands
07 - Extremity Fear
08 - Shipwreck
09 - Formation
10 - First Attack
11 - Triumphal Song
12 - Big Storm
13 - Sea Breeze Town
14 - Moderation Tears
15 - Someday with my Love
16 - Fertile Plain
17 - Over the Desert
18 - Ancient Relics
19 - Brave of Blaze
20 - Forest of Shudder
21 - Apparition Trees
22 - Weird Air
23 - Idleness Sleep
24 - To You, my Traveller
25 - Underground Water Course
26 - Immovable Fossil
27 - In Her Mind
28 - Magnificence Street
29 - Elegance Residence
30 - Powdery Snow
31 - Heart Warm
32 - Vast & Sever
33 - Mist Land
34 - Break Through
35 - Retreat
36 - Bad Past
37 - The Missing Is...
38 - Calm Reception
39 - Crystal Valley
40 - Heavenly Praise
41 - One's Last Moment
42 - Blind Man
43 - Cave of Ocean Floor
44 - Tragedy Knight
45 - Hard Pressure
46 - Evil's Supremacy
47 - Into the Dark
48 - Throne of Close
49 - Slash for Chap
50 - Down to the Abyss
51 - Happy-Go-Lucky
52 - Supremacy Title
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Invitation for the New World
02 - From Faraway
03 - Recollection of Past
04 - The Triumphal Hymn
05 - Three Years Later
06 - The Realms of Goddess
07 - Sophia
08 - The Last of Dragon Slayer
09 - Whereabouts of Destiny
10 - Seventh Soul
11 - Balmy Wind
12 - Unknown Truth
13 - Graceful Decision
14 - Ambition Territory
15 - Longing Desire
16 - Sternly Spirit
17 - Destruction Bell
18 - Darkness Thunderclap
19 - Final Awakening
20 - Other Side of Sorrows
21 - Daylight Promise
22 - Someday, Somewhere
23 - On Blue Brilliant Place
24 - Following Wind
JDK Band Arrange
25 - Supremacy Title
26 - Hard Pressure
27 - Sea Breeze Town
28 - Blind Man~Over the Desert
29 - Brave of Blaze
Total Time:
Music From The Legend of Xanadu II is one of those odd soundtracks that sneaks up and takes you by surprise. Although I wouldn't consider it one of Falcom's best albums, it had the potential to be. It amazes me that very few people talk, or even know, about it. I'm not quite sure if it's the game's obscurity or the high price tag that keeps buyers away. Whatever the reason, those of you who've been avoiding this soundtrack are missing out.

Before I go ranting on about how great the music is, let me get the bad (disc one) out of the way. Featuring the PSG, in-game music, the compositions are very good, but sorely hindered by the horrible sound quality. Almost 8-bitish, I had expected more from the samples coming out of the PC-Engine's soundboard. However, if you can get past the lack of quality samples, you'd find quite a gem. The compositions are excellent, some of the best from Falcom, especially the heart-pounding, energetic battle themes. It's everything one would expect from Sound Team JDK. If only they recorded with better samples, I may have been inclined to call this the best album Falcom has created to date. Sadly, this is not the case.

Disc two is an entirely different story. Tracks 1-24 contain the music from the PCM selections (movie/special event sequences), and are in one word, AWESOME. Although the synthesized orchestra is not as good as Ys V Orchestra Version's, or even Legend of Heroes IV: Electric Orchestra's for that matter, the sound quality is a rather large step above those from the first disc, I could not believe this music came from the same game.

At parts sorrowful, others majestic and adventurous, these pieces encompass what I love best about game music, the emotions that the wonderful melodies inspire. The beautiful "Invitation for the New World" starts the disc with a tranquil piano piece. "Triumphal Hymn" is a great military/march arrangement; having never played the game, I can just imagine this music being performed in the great hall of some majestic castle. The absolute best track is "The Last of Dragon Slayer." Full of power and adventure, an excellent orchestral arrangement in itself, it almost brings tears to my eyes whenever I listen to it. The rest of the PCM tracks are equally enjoyable, but it is the last five pieces on this CD that make the entire package worth the price.

The remaining five tracks on disc two are JDK Band arrangements of various tracks from the first disc, and are absolutely incredible. This is what the first disc should have sounded like! Fast, hard, and everything I would have expected from Tomohiko Kishimoto and the JDK Band, anyone who is a Falcom fan will love these tracks! Listening to them, I can just hear the similarities to other great Falcom games including Ys, Popful Mail, and even Legacy of the Wizard. This is pure Falcom rock at it's best. "Supremacy Title," the first of the band's arrangements, is a funky piece that is VERY catchy. "Hard Pressure" is just that, hard and full of blood-pumping power rock, including guitars. The slowest and most mellow of all the arrangements, "Sea Breeze Town," is a soothing piece that breaks the tension of the other four tracks with its wispy melody. "Blind Man ~ Over the Desert" combines two tracks beginning with the slow, somber, and almost sorrowful "Blind Man," and jumping into the harder "Over the Desert," which is the perfect accompaniment. Lastly, "Brave of Blaze" ends the album with it's furious synthesizers wailing out some of the best music Falcom has ever composed!!! After hearing these, it almost makes me cry knowing that the JDK Band will never arrange the rest of the music from the first disc. If they did, it would easily be my favorite of the Falcom albums.

Although Music from Legend of Xanadu II starts off with a rather disappointing first disc, the second disc of music more than makes up for it. One of the most underrated of Falcom's soundtracks, it's worth the high price you'll have to pay for it. If you ever come across a copy, I highly recommend picking it up.

Reviewed by: Lucy Rzeminski


Twitch Schedule & Status

Tales of the Abyss
Sunday, March 18 • 10am PST/1pm EST

On Break
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Secret of Mana Remake
Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Tales of Vesperia
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Retro Encounter 126
Retro Encounter 126
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life Review
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms Review
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms
Glory to Metal: A Symphonic Metal Tribute to NieR: Automata Review
Glory to Metal: A Symphonic Metal Tribute to NieR: Automata
Tokyo Xanadu eX+ Review
Tokyo Xanadu eX+
Retro Encounter 125
Retro Encounter 125