- RPGFan Music - Mother
Now Hiring Social Media Editors: Apply Today!


[back cover]
Catalog Number: MHCL-341
Released On: February 18, 2004
Composed By: Keiichi Suzuki, Hirokazu Tanaka
Arranged By: Keiichi Suzuki, David Bedford, Takeshi Saitoh, Michael Nyman
Published By: Sony Music Direct
Recorded At: Sound Sky Studio, Nikkatsu Studio, Take One Studio, Digital Studio, Air Studio At London, Garden Studio At London, Real World Studio At Bath, Crescent Studios At Bath
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - Pollyanna (I Believe In You)
02 - Bein' Friends
03 - The Paradise Line
04 - Magicant (Inst.)
05 - Wisdom Of The World
06 - Flying Man
07 - Snow Man (Inst.)
08 - All That I Needed (Was You)
09 - Fallin' Love, And (Inst.)
10 - Eight Melodies
11 - The World of MOTHER (Extended Version)
12 - Smiles And Tears (Demo Track)
Total Time:

Mother. The original. The Famicom RPG that Americans never saw (and became known as "Earthbound Zero" in some circles, as it was a prequel to Earthbound). This soundtrack is, primarily, a vocal arrange album, arranged and performed by British people. Yeah...that's strange. But it's only fitting for the Mother series to do something this offbeat.

Every song has its own style, and represents a different genre. Some sound like the Beatles (seriously!), others sound like a children's show theme song. The production value is incredible, especially for 1989 (back when game music was still generally lacking the international respect it has since begun to obtain).

Perhaps it's because of its incredible production value that Sony Music decided to reprint, and extend, this album in 2004. Keeping the same album title, they added 6 minutes to track 11 (the OST track), as well as a demo track for a song from Mother 2 (track 12). Of course, the real reason this reprint happened was to get people psyched up for Mother 3 (GBA). And yet, that game still never came to North America, and its full OST never had a physical soundtrack release (only digital...sigh...).

In any case, I highly recommend this album, and I specifically recommend this version of the album. You get more music, and it's remastered, and it's readily available. Be sure to check it out! For more details on the soundtrack, see the review for the original print of the album.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann