Origin Soundtrack Series Vol. 1
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: 1991
Composed By: The Fatman, Dana Glover, Floyd Domino, David Sanger, Martin Galway, Nenad Vugrinec, Tom Hollingshead, Steve Morris, Todd Porter, David Watson, Kathleen Jones, Dave Govett
Arranged By: Herman Miller
Published By: Origin
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Wing Commander Two
     1 Main Theme - Cloak And Dagger
     2 The Flight Deck
     3 Angel Deveraux
     4 Tolwyn's Office
     5 Poker
     6 Midgames
     7 Jazz's Escape
     8 Off Duty
     9 The Bridge
    10 Jazz's Storm Clouds
    11 Prince Thrakhath's Theme

02 - Ultima Worlds of Adventure 2 - "Martian Dreams"
     1 Main Theme
     2 Daytime
     3 Surface Combat
     4 Victory
     5 Turn Back The Clock
     6 Dream Combat
     7 Nighttime
     8 Below Ground

03 - Bad Blood
     1 Tranquil Nature
     2 Main Theme - After The Holocaust
     3 Murmurings
     4 Choice For Hope
     5 The Decision
     6 The Send-Off
     7 Plains
     8 The City

04 - Ultima VI - The False Prophet
     1 Can't Remove The Pain
     2 "Rule Britannia"
     3 I Hear You Crying
     4 The Wander
     5 Black Forest
     6 Fall Leaves
     7 Stones

05 - Ultima Worlds of Adventure 1 - "The Save Empire"
     1 Main Theme - The Save Empire
     2 Jingle Of The Jungle
     3 On The Surface

06 - Wing Commander
     1 Fanfare - The Main Theme
     2 Swing Commander
     3 Briefing
     4 Scramble!
     5 Flying To Dogfight
     6 Regular Combat
     7 Hero's Funeral
Total Time:

Here is a truly enigmatic soundtrack. How can a soundtrack be enigmatic? Well, this particular soundtrack was never sold in stores. It was rumored to exist, but has been as elusive as an honest politician! The truth of the matter is that this is an official, factory-pressed CD, released by Origin back in 1991. The story goes that this CD was given as Holiday presents to employees of Origin. This explains why it was never advertised, why there are so few copies, and why it was never sold in stores. Now then, is this CD truly worth all the trouble it takes to find it?

This soundtrack has over an hour of music from some truly classic and wonderful PC games. The first track is music from Wing Commander II. The music is beautiful, haunting, enthralling, and fitting for a truly operatic science-fiction game. The second track is the music to Ultima Worlds of Adventure 2 "Martian Dreams." This game was a spin-off of the very popular Ultima series, but instead of taking place in the "usual" magical world, in this game you find yourself on Mars! Once again, the music is beautiful and haunting, but not overly dramatic. Next is the music to Bad Blood, a post-apocalyptic RPG. The music is fitting, but not as memorable as the music to the previous games. Right after Bad Blood we have music from Ultima VI the False Prophet. The Ultima series was one of the gems of classic RPGs, so as you might expect, the music is all top-notch. Very beautiful, and a little melancholy (I like that). Next, we have a very brief (about 7 minutes) interlude into Ultima Worlds of Adventure 1 "The Savage Empire." The music here is not nearly as interesting as the second Worlds of Adventure game, but it's nice that they included it, if nothing more than for completion's sake. Lastly, we have about nine minutes of music from the first Wing Commander game.

The Good: All the compositions are extremely well done, and composed by very talented people (such as the Fatman, Dana Glover, Todd Porter, and Dave Govett). Personally, I find this music more enjoyable than many modern game soundtrack (which typically have HUGE budgets, and often full orchestras)! It's all midi, but it still sounds great and has a charm to it that's impossible to find elsewhere.

The Bad: there is a ton of music on this CD (wait, this is actually good)! However, it's only 6 tracks and the music is difficult to navigate on a CD. Even though the music to Wing Commander II has 11 separate compositions, it's just one continuous track on the CD. This is quite annoying. It's not terrible, just annoying. Of course, you can rip the music from the CD, but you have to wonder why anyone would create a CD in this manner?

The Ugly: this CD is ridiculously hard to find! People who have it typically are not interested in selling it. Your best bet (and for all practical purposes only bet) is to keep searching for this on eBay.

Bottom Lines: if you like classic video game/PC game music (midi), then you will simply LOVE this CD! If you are a fan of classic games, then you will LOVE this CD! If you have fond memories of any of these games, then you will LOVE this CD! If you don't fall into any of the previous three categories, then I would caution you about purchasing this CD. Of course, this soundtrack is so hard to find, that my warning is really unnecessary. Overall, this is a great tribute to games gone by, and a true gem!

Reviewed by: avatar!


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, April 29
TBA • 10am PST/1pm EST

Super Mario RPG • 3pm PST/6pm EST

TBA • 3pm PST/6pm EST
Persona 4 Golden • 7pm PST/10pm EST

Alundra • 12pm PST/3pm EST
Persona 4 Golden • 7pm PST/10pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn • 3pm PST/6pm EST
Persona 4 Golden • 7pm PST/10pm EST

Earthbound • 3pm PST/6pm EST
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PST/10pm EST

Persona 4 Golden • 5pm PST/8pm EST

20 Years of Milestone RPGs ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

20 Years of Milestone RPGs

20th Anniversary Feature
Sword Art Online: Fatal Bullet Review

Sword Art Online: Fatal Bullet

Hylian Highlights Part 3: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Hylian Highlights Part 3: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Special Feature
Seiken Densetsu 25th Anniversary Orchestra Concert CD Review

Seiken Densetsu 25th Anniversary Orchestra Concert CD

Random Encounter 142

This is Your Story: Share Your Tale!