Parasite Eve OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SSCX-10020 (reprint SQEX-10222/3)
Released On: May 21, 1998 (reprint January 26, 2011)
Composed By: Yoko Shimomura, J.S.Bach
Arranged By: Yoko Shimomura, Shigeo Tamaru
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Andora Studios Los Angeles
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Primal Eyes
02 - Waiting for Something Awakens
03 - Overture [from opera "La mia verita"]
04 - Se Il mio amore sta vincino [Vocalise] -Eva's Aria-
05 - Memory I
06 - Gloom and Doom
07 - Theme of Mitochondoria
08 - Sotto Voce
09 - Arise within You
10 - Main Theme [Piano Solo Version]
11 - The Surface of the Water
12 - Memorize of "Aya and Eve"
13 - Out of Phase
14 - Urban Noise
15 - Mystery Notes
16 - Influence of Deep
17 - Phrase of Aya
18 - Phrase of Mitochondoria
19 - Theme of Aya
20 - Under the Progress
21 - Plosive Attack
22 - Missing Perspective
23 - Memory II
24 - Force Trail
25 - Phrase of Eve
26 - Memory III
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Matrix
02 - The Omission of the World
03 - Wheel of Fortune
04 - Kyrie
05 - Across the View
06 - Femmes Fatales
07 - A Piece of Remain
08 - Musica Mundana
09 - U.B.
10 - Escape of U.B.
11 - Main Theme
12 - Theme of Aya [Reprise]
13 - I hear a voice calling me to awaken
14 - Somnia Memorias
And Other Days
15 - Consensus
16 - Someone calls me...., Someone looks for me......
17 - Main Theme [Orchestral Version]
Bonus Track
18 - Influence of Deep -CM Version-
19 - Se Il mio amore sta vincino -CM Version-
Total Time:

I remember first getting this album, not quite knowing what to expect, having heard that it was quite different from the more typical RPG-fare out there at the time. And upon first listen I wasn't sure if I liked it or not, but after awhile it grew on me, A LOT.

I have a hard time describing the music on this soundtrack. Some tracks are so hauntingly beautiful that they rip my heart apart every time I listen to them, while others make me want to just get up and dance. I'm not a huge fan of techno music, but Shimomura really knows her stuff. It's her talent as a composer that adds so much to the music. Even the most repetitive of the compositions still have enough substance and style to keep you interested. I'm not saying that every track is good; there are quite a few that are VERY skippable. The biggest problem I have are the pieces that include Eve's highly annoying, pseudo-operatic voice synth. In the game it fits fine, but in stand alone pieces it doesn't work quite as well. I cannot begin tell you how much more enjoyable "Influence of Deep" or "Femme Fatales" would have been without it. But, all complaints aside, the good stuff more than outweighs any weaknesses in the soundtrack.

What I find most interesting about this album is how Shimomura combines the use of the traditional piano/classical opera with techno/rock based sounds. This combination really brings out the strong, yet vulnerable personality of Aya's character as well as the siren-like nature of Eve. Much of the urban setting of the game is conveyed and enhanced by the music as well. "Urban Noise" is a great example. I find it amazing how she is able to create the sound and feel of a city street through the use of different synthesized samples without using any real life sounds such as traffic, car horns, etc.

One of the highlights of the soundtrack is the ending theme, "Somnia Memorias." It's an interesting mix of Latin and Spanish blended together with just the right amount of R&B, and a notable vocal performance, that captures the urban tone of the game perfectly. The lyrics are also well written and fit the story well.

Along with the original soundtracks, there were a few bonuses that deserve mention. Both "Se il Mio Amore Sta Vincino" and "Influence of the Deep" are arranged with a real opera vocalist, Judith Siirila, providing Eve's voice. I actually found these pieces to be quite enjoyable, much more so than the original songs themselves. Vincino sounds like a true opera perfomance should, but "Influence of Deep" is something else entirely. It's hard to imagine techno/dance music accented with operatic vocals, but the end result is really good. Finally, there's the "Main Theme Orchestra Version". I cannot begin to express in words how beautiful this arrangement is. Shimomura transforms the original theme into an orchestral masterpiece lasting nearly 8 minutes long, filled with so much emotion and drama that it almost brings tears to my eyes. It's one of the best piano pieces I've ever heard. Period. This track is worth the entire price of the album alone.

So, the bottom line on Parasite Eve? Different sounds and compositions form a somewhat unconventional, yet highly enjoyable aural experience. If you've played the game, you most likely have this soundtrack already. If not, and you're not fond of techno-ish music, I'd recommend listening to some samples first before deciding to buy. Otherwise, I would recommend it to anyone who's looking for great music that's a little different.

Reviewed by: Lucy Rzeminski


Twitch Schedule & Status

May 26: Final Fantasy V w/Scott • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Suikoden II w/Maxx • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Golden Sun w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT

Final Fantasy VIII w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Mass Effect 2 w/Nathan • 10am PDT/1pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Golden Sun w/Kat • 4pm PDT/7pm EDT
Valkyrie Profile 2 w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Super Robot Wars X w/Kyle • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Trails of Cold Steel (Nightmare Mode) w/Scott • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Trails of Cold Steel (Nightmare Mode) w/Scott • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Psychedelica of the Black Butterfly OST Review

Psychedelica of the Black Butterfly OST

SteamWorld Quest: Hand of Gilgamech Video Review

SteamWorld Quest: Hand of Gilgamech

Video Review
Retro Encounter 189: Chrono Cross Part II

Retro Encounter 189: Chrono Cross Part II

Interview: Alex Kane on Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Alex Kane on Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic Review

Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic

Retro Review