Popful Mail Sound Box '94
Catalog Number: KICA-1148/9
Released On: August 24, 1994
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Sound Team JDK
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
SFC Popful Mail Soundtrack
01 - Logotype
02 - Welcome Popful Mail
03 - White Clouds in a Blue Sky
04 - Quick-Tempered Spirit
05 - Miena Forest
06 - Bar Basso
07 - You're Important
08 - Shop
09 - Popful Mail World
10 - Jungle
11 - Powerful Guy
12 - Tensions
13 - Boss
14 - Lost Heart
15 - Ancient Cave
16 - Stage Boss
17 - Game Over
18 - Treasure Chest
19 - Guardess Ruins
20 - Hargel Island
21 - Argazarl Castle
22 - Lucina
23 - Lucina Temple
24 - Footfalls of Destruction
25 - Destiny
26 - Geist Race
27 - Marching Down Tomorrow Road
28 - Somebody Loves You
Total Time:

Disc Two
Mega-CD Popful Mail Soundtrack
01 - Backup Creation
02 - Advent of the Hero ~ Distant Valhalla
03 - Opening
04 - Jungle (Exploration)
05 - Jungle (Battle)
06 - Shop
07 - Big Boss
08 - Game Over
09 - Cave (Exploration)
10 - Cave (Battle)
11 - Stage Boss
12 - Volcanic Zone (Exploration)
13 - Volcanic Zone (Battle)
14 - Ice Berg (Exploration)
15 - Ice Berg (Battle)
16 - Castle (Exploration)
17 - Castle (Battle)
18 - Geist Race
19 - Ending
PC-Engine Popful Mail Soundtrack
20 - Backup Creation
21 - Jungle (Exploration)
22 - Jungle (Battle)
23 - Big Boss
24 - Jungle ~ Cave
25 - Cave (Exploration)
26 - Cave (Battle)
27 - Stage Boss
28 - Volcanic Zone (Exploration)
29 - Volcanic Zone (Battle)
30 - Volcanic Zone ~ Ice Berg
31 - Ice Berg (Exploration)
32 - Ice Berg (Battle)
33 - Castle (Exploration)
34 - Castle (Battle)
35 - Last Stage
36 - Geist
Popful Mail Ending Remix Version
37 - Somebody Loves You
Total Time:

Is it just me or does Popful the elf look almost exactly like Lina Inverse from the "Slayers" anime? I've mistaken one for the other on several occasions. In fact, the artwork seems reminiscent of the show (cute, red-haired, money hungry female protagonist with a likable supporting cast) Then again, that isn't such a bad thing - One of the best things about "Slayers" is the awesome music and I was curious to see what kind of score Falcom would give this lighthearted game.

Popful Mail Soundbox '94 comes on two CD's. Disc 1 is the Super Famicom version of the game's score and Disc 2 contains the music from the Mega CD and PC-Engine versions (that's "Super Nintendo", "Sega CD" and "Turbo Grafx 16" respectively for the American gamers out there). At the end of disc 2, there is a vocal version of Disc 1's ending, "Somebody Loves You."

Personally, I listen to disc 1 the most. The Super Nintendo has always had a great sound chip and it does the music for this game justice. It's not as harsh on the ears as the CD versions and it comes out much better than, say, the SNES version of Ys III. All tracks loop once, giving plenty of time to get a feel for the music. Speaking of which, a lot of the music on this disc didn't make the cut to the CD versions. Not a big loss given how well it turned out here. "Welcome Popful Mail" pretty much sets the tone for the entire soundtrack, with a bouncy feel. "Quick Tempered Spirit" sounds remarkably like the NES classic "Ice Climber," with a lighthearted, jazzy sound. Tracks 10, 15, 19, 20 and 21 are the ones that correspond to the "Battle" themes on disc 2. I don't know why they aren't listed identically on the tracklist on the back. These are pretty much the meat of the disc, as the "Exploration" themes have a bit of a bland feel to them. I've sampled the "Jungle Battle" of each set of tracks, so you can see how they differ. Overall, a great CD.

I haven't played the CD versions of the game, so I can't say for sure if the tracks on disc 2 follow the redbook audio. I say this because unlike other Falcom releases on CD that contain arrangements of the original music (the Ys games, most notably), these tracks play through once then fade out. At the very least, most redbook audio loops once or twice. These tracks give little to no variation to their disc 1 counterparts, differing only in synth quality (the Mega CD tracks have more of a lighthearted feel, while the PC-Engine ones are closer to the typical Falcom rock). Disappointingly, it pretty much only sticks to the stage themes, ignoring the tracks at the very beginning of disc 1. On top of that, the sound quality improvement isn't that great. I don't want to sound too hard on this disc because it has plenty of good tracks, but the disjointed listening experience puts a major damper on it.

"Opening" has a frantic around-and-around sound to it. The PC-Engine versions of "Volcanic Zone (Battle)" and "Geist Race" are excellent Falcom rock, and "Iceberg Zone (Battle)" has a great techno beat to it. Finally, the vocal version of "Somebody Loves You" is a great end for the disc. The soothing vocals lend themselves to another version of the song that is dead-on with its disc 1 version. A little disappointing, but this disc has enough good points to warrant a few listens here and there. For the most part, I prefer the PC-Engine versions over the Mega CD ones.

The linear notes are the icing on the cake. Inside are several black and white pictures of Popful's adventures (there's one that has her hugging a sword that costs 10,000 gold pieces, with the party completely broke. This was the one that really brought up the "Slayers" comparison). Very nice.

It's not the most spectacular Falcom soundtrack, but for what it is (a gamey, lighthearted album for an anime-inspired action RPG), it gets the job done. This is the kind of music you put in and simply drift into a good mood with. Three different versions are a nice touch, although they all have their strong points and weaknesses. I have a soft spot for it, but the main people I would recommend it to are those who have fond memories of playing the game on the Sega CD, which miraculously made it to the US, thanks to Working Designs. People not familiar with the game should listen to the samples and approach with caution. This isn't Ys or Sorcerian music, so you might be a bit let down with the somewhat weak compositions. For those looking for a great Falcom album to add to their collection, try the Super Arranged Version of these tracks that is found on Falcom Special Box '94, it's a much better overall listening experience. Also, keep in mind that this pretty much the only source of the original music. The PC version on Falcom Special Box '93 is mind-numbingly 8-bit and the rest of the Popful Mail CD's are drama albums.

As for tracking it down, it came out in 1994 and most Falcom albums from that time period are a pain to track down. This set is no exception. Sold on ebay, it will probably hit between $70-$100. It's cheaper on Yahoo Japan, but still very infrequent. Falcom Special Box '94 offers more bang for your buck, so I say go with that instead.

Reviewed by: Goldfish24K


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, June 17
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Detroit: Become Human • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Our Favorite Features: Part Two ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

Our Favorite Features: Part Two

20th Anniversary Feature
Sound of Drop -fall into poison- Review

Sound of Drop -fall into poison-

GreedFall E3 Impressions


Sound of Drop - fall into poison - Official Soundtrack Review

Sound of Drop - fall into poison - Official Soundtrack

Retro Encounter 140

Retro Encounter 140

The Surge 2 Hands-On Preview

The Surge 2

Hands-On Preview