Phantom of Inferno OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: HBMS-001
Released On: August 8, 2003
Composed By: Choir, Toshimichi Isoe, Masayoshi Murakama, Yo Oyama
Arranged By: Toshimichi Isoe, Masayoshi Murakami
Published By: HOBiRECORDS
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Search and Destroy - Album Version
02 - Promised land - Remix
03 - phantom
04 - inferno
05 - desertscape
06 - criminal
07 - fight
08 - requiem
09 - cityscape
10 - speed
11 - lovers
12 - elen
13 - opera
14 - memory
15 - cal
16 - cohabit
17 - claudia
18 - mellow
19 - nightcruise
20 - home
21 - mio
22 - Jesus Is Calling
23 - Search and Destroy
24 - hope
25 - traveler
26 - A Better Tomorrow
27 - Fly - Remix
28 - SILENCE - Studio live Version
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Promised land
02 - Fly
04 - Promised land (Instrumental)
05 - Fly (Instrumental)
06 - SILENCE (Instrumental)
07 - Promised land - Remix (Instrumental)
08 - Fly - Remix (Instrumental)
09 - SILENCE - Studio live Version (Instrumental)
Total Time:

The PlayStation 2 version of Phantom of Inferno came out well after the original DVD and PC formats and it was blessed with its own soundtrack. This soundtrack is pretty much the same as the DVD original Sound Track, albeit with a handful of added tracks. I heard no difference in sound quality from one to the other, though the "Claudia" track was a good 30 seconds shorter here. Had I not actually known that, I wouldn't have been able to tell. Oh, and the vocalist I bagged on in my other Phantom of Inferno soundtrack review is back in all her "glory." I was hoping that the sound team had re-recorded "Promised Land" and "Fly" with a different vocalist for this new updated version of the game, but alas, it wasn't meant to be.

In any case, the added tracks here are an extended version of "Search and Destroy" and myriad versions of a track called "Silence." "Search and Destroy" is one of the faster tempo tracks and the one that plays during the opening of the US version. This extended version features a very interesting bridge section halfway through. It sounds nice and sinister in keeping with the vibe of the game. "Silence" is a slow track, but with a pop sensibility. It is mostly acoustic guitars with some tasteful synths, smooth guitar sounds, and a female Japanese vocalist. There is also a "studio live" version of "Silence" with full acoustic instrumentation (no synths) and featuring the same vocalist. Said vocalist can actually carry a tune, maintain her intonation, and sustain her notes properly, but her voice is rather weak, a bit muffled sounding, and fairly monotone. What is up with the Phantom of Inferno sound team and recruiting such inferior vocalists? The game itself has such stellar voice acting talent, so it is a shame to hear such lousy singers in the soundtrack. There are instrumental versions of both the regular arrangement of "Silence" as well as the "studio live" version of Silence. I much preferred the regular arrangement over the all acoustic arrangement, because the synths and guitar add some great sonic textures to the sound.

I can say without hesitation that "Silence (instrumental)" and the two instrumental versions of "Promised Land" are my three favorite pieces on this soundtrack. Therefore, of the two Phantom of Inferno soundtracks, this one is the superior version because it has added tracks and maintains good sound quality.

Reviewed by: Neal Chandran


Coming Up on Twitch

Sunday, September 24 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Final Fantasy XII: The Zodiac Age
Mondays • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Vandal Hearts
Tuesdays • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT

Danganronpa 2
Tuesday-Thursdays • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Featured Content
Retro Encounter 101
Retro Encounter 101
Random Encounter 133
Random Encounter 133
XCOM 2 War of the Chosen Review
XCOM 2 War of the Chosen
Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony Review
Danganronpa V3: Killing Harmony
Muv-Luv Alternative Review
Muv-Luv Alternative
NieR Music Concert & Talk Live Blu-ray Review
NieR Music Concert & Talk Live Blu-ray
NieR Music Concert & Talk Live Soundtrack Review
NieR Music Concert & Talk Live Soundtrack