Pokémon Reorchestrated: Kanto Symphony
Catalog Number: JOY-325
Released On: October 14, 2012
Composed By: Junichi Masuda
Arranged By: Braxton Burks, Skotein
Published By: Joypad Records
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: Digital
Buy this album from Joypad Records

01 - Shelf of Memories (Prelude)
02 - Red and Blue (Opening Theme)
03 - Dreams and Adventures (Oak's Opening Speech)
04 - Pallet Town
05 - Oak Research Lab
06 - The Road To Viridian City
07 - Battle! VS Wild Pokémon
08 - Viridian City (& Pewter City, Saffron City)
09 - Pokémon Center
10 - Viridian Forest
11 - Show Me Around, Old Man!
12 - Battle! VS Trainer
13 - Mt. Moon
14 - Red's Journey (The Road To Cerulean City)
15 - Cerulean City (& Fuschia City)
16 - Pokémon Gym
17 - Battle! VS Gym Leader (& Elite Four)
18 - Vermilion City
19 - SS Anne
20 - Beyond Rock Tunnel (The Road To Lavender Town)
21 - Bicycle
22 - Lavender Town
23 - The Ghost of Pokémon Tower
24 - Celadon City
25 - Celadon Game Corner
26 - Team Rocket Hideout
27 - Silph Co. Under Siege
28 - Ocean Waltz (Surfing)
29 - Cinnabar Island
30 - Pokémon Mansion
31 - Evolution
32 - Present Your Badges (Indigo Plateau)
33 - The Final Showdown! VS Champion Rival
34 - Into The Hall of Fame
35 - Ending
Total Time:

I've played a lot of Pokémon over the years. Every generation, in fact, including the remakes. Even after all of that, I'm still looking forward to Pokémon X/Y when they hit the 3DS later this year. But Red/Blue/Green will always hold a special place in my heart. I played Red for long enough that I maxed out the clock at 255 hours, and it's the only time I've ever completed a Pokédex (I even got Mew). I tell you that so you'll know where I come from when I say that Pokémon Reorchestrated: Kanto Symphony is a work of art.

And yet, to see it that way, it's important to understand what this album is: a symphony orchestra-style rearrangement of the tracks from the first generation of Pokémon games. It is not a symphony based on Pokémon music with movements and themes. That's why I don't think that you have to be a fan of symphonies to enjoy this album — it's likely that any fan of the Pokémon games and their music will like these rearrangements.

The album's arranger, Skotein, performs the songs using extremely high-quality samples of a wide variety of real instruments from across the orchestral spectrum: strings, horns, woodwinds, and a variety of percussion all make appearances on the album. The samples are actually of high enough quality that if I hadn't read his website's FAQ where he talks about them, I would have thought I was listening to an orchestra. He was able to get these samples thanks to a successful Kickstarter campaign, which is nice to see.

Skotein's "reorchestrated" tracks are melodically and rhythmically faithful to the original versions, and if you ever played the first generation Pokémon games, when you listen to this album, the nostalgia will hit you like a brick. OK, not a brick... something nice to be hit with. "Red and Blue (Opening Theme)" is a particularly strong track for inducing that feeling. That's not to say that the tracks slavishly ape the originals, though. "Battle! VS Wild Pokémon" is extremely evocative of the game's battle theme, but it makes excellent use of a number of instruments and features an original opening section that beautifully captures the feeling of "oh, man — there's something in the grass there! Here it comes! What is it?"

Players don't hear every track in the game equally often as the opening and battle themes, so not every song on the album brings back the same strong feelings that those two tracks do. But the album is consistently fun to listen to regardless. And every so often, even though it's been almost 15 years since I first played Pokémon Red, I'd get another happy moment of "hey, I remember that!"

No album is flawless, but if pressed to find fault with this one, I could really only mention one thing. "Celadon City" starts out tame and ramps up to being nicely complex, but then gets a little too complex for its own good when some of the instruments seem to fall a bit off the beat for a second or two. Really, this is the only actual flaw that I can name. I'm not claiming the album is perfect, just that it takes great source material, rearranges it in a way that was never really intended by its composers, and does such an admirable job of it that from start to finish, I'm only able to point out a couple of seconds where things go wrong. That's pretty impressive in my book.

This is a great album, and it's easy to recommend it to anyone who played the first generation of Pokémon games. Given the fact that a number of the musical themes have stayed similar throughout the series, I'd expect that even more recent Pokéfans will find plenty to like here. Skotein's FAQ says he's using this as an opportunity to practice and enhance his skills at composing and arranging music, and given the results, I'd judge this practice a success.

Reviewed by: John Tucker


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 15
Octopath Traveler • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Complete • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Shining Resonance Refrain Review

Shining Resonance Refrain

Detroit: Become Human Review

Detroit: Become Human

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star

Little Witch Academia: Chamber of Time Review

Little Witch Academia: Chamber of Time

Kurt hymneth ~The Songs that Conversed with the Gods~ Ar tonelico hymmnos concert Complete BOX Review

Kurt hymneth ~The Songs that Conversed with the Gods~ Ar tonelico hymmnos concert Complete BOX