popolocrois: a new departure OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SVWC-7142
Released On: August 21, 2002
Composed By: Tetsuo Ishikawa, Yoshiyuki Sahashi, Yoshifumi Iio
Arranged By: Tetsuo Ishikawa, Yoshiyuki Sahashi, Yoshifumi Iio
Published By: SME Visual Works
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Prologue
02 - Popolocrois Castle
03 - Popolocrois Castle Lower Town
04 - Takinen Village
05 - Popolo Plains ~ Day
06 - Popolo Plains ~ Night
07 - Dragon Shrine
08 - Sacred Region of Wind
09 - Sacred Region of Flame
10 - Sacred Region of Water
11 - Flownel Forest
12 - Frozen Sea
13 - Darkness Castle Lower Town
14 - Sacred Region of Darkness
15 - Battle I
16 - Battle II
17 - Battle ~ Phantonesia
18 - Huge Rival
19 - Aproaching Shadow
20 - Ghost of Darkness
21 - King of the Everlasting Darkness
22 - Morning of the Travel
23 - Once upon a time
24 - Mother's Easiness
25 - Small Tears
26 - The Door of the Eye (Instrumental Arrange)
27 - Sadness
28 - Courage
29 - Tension
30 - Hidamari
31 - Accident
32 - Friendship
33 - Mystery
34 - Comical
35 - Yazumi's Theme
36 - The Door of the Eye
Total Time:

Also known as Popolocrois 3, "A New Departure" continues the series standard of having light, whimsical music, akin to Yoko Kanno's "Napple Tale." Strange, ambient collaborations of natural and artificial sounds and something I can only call "toy music" tend to dominate the soundscape.

Okay, well, it's not all as I described. This isn't Hako no Niwa. There are songs that sound like your average RPG battle theme, complete with electric guitar. There are beautiful string ensemble/orchestra pieces (such as the opening "Prologue" track). You'll find a few little surprises here and there.

If I were to make another comparison to game music out there (and I'm about to), I would reference Bumpy Trot (Steambot Chronicles). A hodge-podge of fun, silly songs that would never be worth having on their own, but as a collaborative project, all the music together creates something that fits and becomes beautiful. You need to listen to the whole OST, not just pieces, to find the best in it.

Simple. Good. Fun. Happy. You will find that in most Popolo soundtracks, and "A New Departure" is no exception.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Coming Up on Twitch

Wild Arms 2
July 3 • 9:00am PDT/12:00pm EDT

Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Continues!
Every Monday • 5:00pm PDT/8:00pm EDT

Zero Time Dilemma
Every Night! • 5:00pm PDT/8:00pm EDT

Grandia II Continues!
Every Wednesday • 2:00pm PDT/5:00pm EDT

Featured Content
Origins Game Fair 2016
Origins Game
Fair 2016
Special Feature
Adventures of Mana OST Review
Adventures of Mana OST
Retro Encounter Bonus Round: Persona 4
Retro Encounter Bonus Round: Persona 4
Grand Kingdom Review
Grand Kingdom
Overfall Review
E3 2016 Complete Coverage
Complete Coverage!
E3 2016
RSS Feeds & More
Complete Feed
Reviews Feed
Media Feed
Random Encounter
Rhythm Encounter
Retro Encounter