Rogue Galaxy OST
Catalog Number: KICA-1382/3
Released On: January 25, 2006
Composed By: Tomohito Nishiura
Arranged By: Tomohito Nishiura
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - The Theme of Rogue Galaxy
02 - The Sandy Town
03 - The Omen
04 - The Crisis
05 - The Church
06 - Brave Heart
07 - A Hasty Man
08 - Hazardous Desert
09 - Timeless Town
10 - Severe Voyage
11 - The Jungle of Jyuraika
12 - Burkaca Village
13 - The Ruined Castle
14 - A Road to the Ruined Castle
15 - Shadow of the Sun
16 - Swinging!!
17 - Planet Zerard
18 - Two Horns
19 - Sweet Memories
20 - The Galaxy Public Corporation
21 - Factory (In Editing)
22 - Factory (In Production)
23 - A Peaceful Moment
24 - A Hidden Insanity
25 - The Prison
26 - The Lost Gene
27 - Exploder1
28 - A Childhood Memory
29 - Starship Factory
30 - Open the World
31 - Varkogu's Theme
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - The King of Legend
02 - A Masked Man
03 - Exploder2
04 - The Misty Town
05 - The Bar "Angela"
06 - Overcome the Sorrow
07 - The Cave of a Mine
08 - Insectron (Strategy)
09 - Insectron (Battle)
10 - The Watery Relic
11 - Wandering Way
12 - Strain
13 - The Labyrinth
14 - Le Marie Glennecia
15 - Enormous Threat
16 - The Castle in the Air
17 - A Disquieting Atmosphere
18 - The Mystery Forest
19 - History Tells
20 - The Holy Valley
21 - Blue Tears
22 - The Valley of the Evil Lava
23 - The Mother
24 - The Relic's Song
25 - The Beast Battleship
26 - A Wish For Tomorrow
27 - The Ghost Ship
28 - Escape to The Victory
29 - Dreaming My Way Home ~ Ending Theme
<Bonus Track>
30 - Dreaming My Way Home ~ Unrecorded Version
Total Time:

Featuring a tempo reminiscent of games like Skies of Arcadia and Star Ocean: The Second Story, Rogue Galaxy's soundtrack may come across to some as an inspired, familiar sound, to others as a fresh note of high adventure.

The OST features 61 tracks, including an arrange of the game's vocal ending track, "Dreaming My Way Home" performed by the talented Barbara Kessler. The unrecorded version doesn't seem that much different from the one used in-game at first, but the beat is far more relaxed and feels like something you could daydream to. There's definitely more body to the unrecorded version, giving it a lull that proves very soothing. It's subtle, but a nice change from the regular take.

Most of the OST is atmospheric music, taking the listener from one locale and situation to another. Tracks like "A Road to the Ruined Castle" and "Varkogu's Theme" reminded me a great deal of Skies of Arcadia's stellar soundtrack, though I'm sad to say, lacking the same punch. Still, the tracks are wholly enjoyable.

I have to reiterate that a majority of the album serves to create a depth of atmosphere, giving the impression that you're actually travelling somewhere or experiencing something as you listen. Tracks such as "The Holy Valley" are excellent examples of this roaming element, making it a perfect accompaniment if you are in fact travelling at length on the train or going on a long walk.

Only a few of the tracks actually come across as weak on their own. Some like "Factory (In Production)" just don't inspire the same feeling as the rest of the album. Certainly, one of the album's shortcomings is that much of the music is atmospheric and so may not be suitable for regular listening outside of the game's context. However, as background music, it serves its purpose quite well, and the album is a general treat.

Fans of Dark Cloud and Dark Cloud 2 should be most familiar with the album's sound. The composer Tomohito Nishiura worked before on both soundtracks, and here he again displays his talent for creating a diverse, engaging sound that takes the listener on an adventure all by itself. With the assistance of Barbara Kessler, Yayoi Ono, and Katsuyuki Yamasaki on vocals, Nishiura has managed to create a true classic.

Where it lacks the dramatic flair of say, a Square-Enix album, Rogue Galaxy's soundtrack is a gem all its own. Some gamers will be reminded of fond classics, while others are bound to appreciate it just based on its atmospheric merits. An excellent addition to any music lover's library.

Reviewed by: Mark P. Tjan


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 1
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Our Favorite Features: Part Three ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

Our Favorite Features: Part Three

20th Anniversary Feature
Dragon Quest XI Preview

Dragon Quest XI

Little Dragons Café Hands-On Preview

Little Dragons Café

Hands-On Preview
Shadows: Awakening Preview

Shadows: Awakening

Cyberpunk 2077 Preview

Cyberpunk 2077