Seiken Densetsu 2 OSV
Catalog Number: PSCN-5030 (first print N25D-019; reprint NTCP-5030)
Released On: August 25, 1995 (first print August 6, 1993; reprint October 1, 2004)
Composed By: Hiroki Kikuta
Arranged By: Hiroki Kikuta
Published By: NTT Publishing (first print NTT/Square Brand)
Recorded At: Sunrise Studio)
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Anime Nation

01 - The Angels' Fear
02 - Tell Us A Curious Story
03 - The Rose And The Spirit
04 - Always Together
05 - Fond Memories
06 - Young Men Searching For Wilderness
07 - Color of the Summer Sky
08 - Dancing Animals
09 - Distant Thunder
10 - The Child of the Sprite Tribe
11 - Moonlit Night Event
12 - Inside The Darkness
13 - Sacred Invasion
14 - Secret of the Hot Sand
15 - What the Forest Taught Me
16 - Wish
17 - Spirit of the Night
18 - Have you seen the sea?
19 - Danger
20 - Orphan of the Storm
21 - The Wind Never Ceases
22 - Flight into the Unknown
23 - Eternal Recurrence
24 - The Legend
25 - The Eight Strokes Of The Clock
26 - A Curious Happening
27 - The King Of The Beach
28 - The Dark Star
29 - Premonition
30 - Steel and Snares
31 - Prayer And Whisper
32 - Ceremony
33 - Reaching Tomorrow
34 - Leave Time For Love
35 - Pure Night
36 - A Curse
37 - The Sorcerer
38 - A Certain Conclusion
39 - I'll Never Forget You
40 - This One Thing Is Hope
41 - Meridian Worship
42 - The Wings Can't Flap Anymore
43 - Second From Last Reality
44 - Close Your Eyes
Total Time:

[back cover]
The first print is yet another Digipack.

Seiken Densetsu 2 OSV was the first video game soundtrack I ever owned, when a friend gave it to me as a present way back in 94. At the time, I was really crazy about the game, spending hours and hours building up my characters, and the music was one of the reasons I loved it so much; I played some areas of the game again and again only so that I could hear the music once more. I had even taped some of the music before I was able to put my hands on the soundtrack.

So what about the soundtrack? It contains all 44 tracks from the game, including the Game Over music (which is sometimes not included in Soundtracks). The themes range from very touching pieces (such as 05, 17, 39), to dynamic, well-paced heroic themes (34). The game also has a few very beautiful themes you only get to hear a few times (such as the Dark Star theme, which I think was only heard once during the whole game), and with this CD you can fully enjoy these musics. The first print of the CD was a very nice Digipack, with photos of the game's heroes' and various comments. I believe the biggest gripe one could have against this CD is the 'synthe' nature of the music - this IS, after all, a Super Famicom game. But the melodies still sound very good for a 1993 game; in fact the game's music was supposedly a technical exploit at the time, using the Super Famicom's sound capacities like no other game had before. The fact that each theme often rotates only once also comes up as a reproach for that CD, although I personally did not have that much of a problem with that.

Maybe the magic won't work for those who don't have the nostalgia factor like I do; still, this is undoubtedly a beautifully composed CD and probably one of the best Super Famicom soundtracks; a classic every RPG music lover should have on his shelves.

Reviewed by: Eve C.

Seiken Densetsu 2, a.k.a. Secret of Mana in the U.S., was the first Squaresoft title I had ever played, not to mention my first action/RPG ever. Truthfully, when I first visited my friend's house and saw him playing the game on his Super Nintendo, it wasn't the graphics or the story that caught my attention, it was the music. The game itself looked fun enough, but the music literally hypnotized me, and I knew that I just HAD to find a soundtrack for this game. Fast forward about 3 years, and I learn one does exist, and naturally, I was extremely quick to snag it. Although your typical Square-head will say that it's no "Uematsu masterpiece", the music is composed extremely well, full of variety, and I'm proud to say that this is one of the best soundtracks in my collection.

Obviously, all the music is synthesized, since it's straight from the game. There's a very good mixture of mood-setting themes (Phantom and a Rose) and songs that get you "pumped up" for action (Danger). The only major quirk, is that all the tracks are rather short, since they jammed all the music into one CD. However, this soundtrack is still in production due to good demand for it, so finding a copy is relatively easy. In other words, go get one. :)

Reviewed by: Jason Walton