Shining Ark Tenshi no Fandisc (Angel's Fandisc)
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: February 28, 2013
Composed By: Hiroki Kikuta, Junpei Fujita
Arranged By: Junpei Fujita
Published By: SEGA
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Shining Ark
02 - Village of the Gently Rustling Wind
03 - Day-to-Day Idyllic Island
04 - A Place Overflowing with Smiles
05 - Selection of the Brave
06 - Wings of Courage
07 - Giant Dark Night
08 - Hunting Time
09 - Invitation from Ancient Times
10 - Door of the Ruins
11 - Unexplored Land
12 - Servant of the Demon God
13 - March of the Winner
14 - Hustle and Bustle of the Village
15 - Spirit Dancing in the Blue Sky
16 - God's Abundant Blessing
17 - Angel's Mischief
18 - Fierce Fighting in the Blue Waters
19 - Fluttering Pirate Flag
20 - Wishing for the Ocean
21 - Sword of the Fierce Pirate
22 - Reassuring Fellows
23 - Apostle of the Crimson Moon
24 - Grotesque Cry
25 - Assassin from the Moon
26 - Anthem of a New Time
27 - Prayer of the Island
28 - Wrapped in the Night
29 - Door of Truth
30 - Connected Spiral
31 - In That Tense Moment
32 - The Death Angel's Verdict
33 - Awakening of Memory
34 - Tragic Wing
35 - Shadow of Fallen Angels
36 - As the Sun Sinks
37 - Who Hunts the Angel
38 - Steel Wing of the Wise Angel
39 - Omen of Doom
40 - A Modest Messiah
41 - Altar of Hell
42 - Mystery Door
43 - Different Angels of Heaven
44 - Virtual Image of the Star Region
45 - Believing in Miracles
46 - To the Beginning of the End
47 - To One Thought
48 - Ark of Seraphim
49 - Melody of the Heart
50 - The Island Where Angels Live
Total Time:

Randomly select any five tracks on the Shining Ark Tenshi no Fandisc OST, and you'll likely be delighted by a mix of gentle, atmospheric tracks and perhaps one or two more extravagant melodies expressing the danger of battle or the heights of victory. Listen to all fifty tracks (188 and a half minutes, that is), and you'll likely come away with a different impression, an aural fatigue: every track begins to sound the same, but unlike those wines that exhaust the palate, these tracks really are all alike.

There are only two sounds on the Shining Ark Fandisc: the subdued and the boisterous. Although the latter sound tends to be less distinctive from other soundtracks, this is above average JRPG music, particularly the four opening tracks that might provide background music for butterfly watching or some other serene side quest. Starting at track five, the energy makes a tremendous leap (infusing my exercise routine with a sudden alarming urgency), but I prefer the quieter moments on this album. Each one of these noisy tracks, busy with a cluster of false, almost cheap synth sounds, begins with an almost identical orchestral stab. If I were to listen to the album again, I'd likely leave most, if not all, of these out.

From there, the OST moves back and forth from excitable village themes to loud battle themes and then back to gentle lullabies. This was likely done to give the album some sort of pacing, but somewhere before the halfway mark, everything begins to blur together. The listener perhaps enjoys a track, skips the next, and then forgets there's music playing at all, only to be drawn back by some resonant sound or tone and then wonder: haven't I heard this before?

I use no track titles here because names don't much matter when a soundtrack is this monotonous. I'll probably never listen to the Shining Ark Tenshi no Fandisc OST again, but I wouldn't mind hearing it while playing a game. This is above average JRPG music, even if it's safe, synthetic, and repetitive.

Reviewed by: Kyle E. Miller


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, May 20
Surprise! • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Sunday, May 27
Final Fantasy XIV: Patch 4.3 • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Super Mario RPG • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: First Departure • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

MS Saga: A New Dawn • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys: Memories of Celceta • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Earthbound • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys: Memories of Celceta • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Fantasy XV Windows Edition Review

Final Fantasy XV Windows Edition

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

This is Your Story: RPGFan Reader Tales

20th Anniversary Feature
The Swords of Ditto Review

The Swords of Ditto

NieR: Automata Piano Collections Review

NieR: Automata Piano Collections

Retro Encounter 136

Retro Encounter 136