Super Mario RPG OSV
Catalog Number: PSCN-5047/8
Released On: March 25, 1996
Composed By: Yoko Shimomura, Koji Kondo (disc 1 tracks 2, 3, 5, 7, 16, 26, 30, 37, 38; disc 2 tracks 15, 16, 22), Nobuo Uematsu (disc 2 tracks 7-9)
Arranged By: Yoko Shimomura
Published By: NTT Publishing
Recorded At: Sunrise Studios
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Happy Adventure, Delightful Adventure
02 - Let's Try
03 - In the Flower Garden
04 - Koopa Castle (First Time)
05 - Fight Against Koopa
06 - The Sword Descends and the Stars Scatter
07 - Super Pipe House
08 - Where am I Going?
09 - The Road is Full of Danger
10 - Fight Against Monsters
11 - Victory!!
12 - Hello, Happy Kingdom
13 - Explanation!!
14 - A New Partner
15 - The Road is Still Full of Danger
16 - Invincible Star
17 - Fight Against a Somewhat Stronger Monster
18 - Here Are Some Weapons!
19 - Fight Against an Armed Boss
20 - Got a Star Piece
21 - The Dungeon is Full of Monsters
22 - Let's Go Down the Wine River
23 - Grandpa and the Delightful Tadpoles
24 - Shock!
25 - Sad Song
26 - Let's Play "Geno"
27 - Geno Awakens
28 - Beware the Forest's Mushrooms
29 - Rose Town
30 - From Inside the Earthen Pipe
31 - Welcome! Yo'ster Island!!
32 - Let's Race
33 - Hard Working Moles are Good Moles
34 - Docaty Mountain Railroad
35 - Welcome to Bukki Tower
36 - And My Name's Bukki
37 - Long Long Ago...
38 - Heart Beating a Little Faster
39 - Slope

Disc Two
01 - Merry Marry Bells Ring
02 - Celebrational Melody
03 - The Starlight's Flower Blossoms on Star Hill
04 - Sunken Ship
05 - Going Shopping in Ripple Town
06 - My Paradise ~Monstro Town~
07 - Fight Against Culex
08 - Victory Over Culex
09 - Conversation with Culex
10 - You and Toadovsky Create Exquisite Music
11 - Let's do the Fooka-Fooka!
12 - Margarie Margarita
13 - Dodo's Coming!!
14 - Barrel Volcano
15 - The Axem Rangers Drop In
16 - Koopa Castle (Second Time)
17 - Weapons Factory
18 - Fight Against Smithie
19 - Fight Against Smithie, who Likes Transforming
20 - Goodbye Geno...
21 - Happy Parade, Delightful Parade
22 - The End

I got Super Mario RPG the day after I got all my wisdom teeth out. While I was sucking my food through a straw, I got a chance to play this rather offbeat child of Square and Nintendo. Everything about it made me smile, and not just because I was on happy painkillers; bright colors, cute characters, and a fabuloso soundtrack combined to make this a game that can only be summed up as happy. And so follows the OST.

The soundtrack to Super Mario RPG was composed, for the most part, by Yoko Shimomura (of Legend of Mana fame). Let me just say right now that, though the tunes range from light and happy ("Hello Happy Kingdom") to dark and mysterious ("The Dungeon is Full of Monsters"), there's always that touch of bounciness that you can't ignore. It just makes you wanna smile and imagine fat Italian plumbers bouncing on turtles, and that's just fine.

Koji Kondo (Legend of Zelda, Super Mario Bros.) also provides his wonderful compositions for the soundtrack, and it's great to hear the familiar theme of "Long Long Ago..." (those who have played the game will know what I'm talking about. Many classic Mario Bros. themes have been redone and arranged nicely to my great joy.

Now, if getting together Shimomura and Kondo wasn't enough, Square decided to lend the soundtrack some classic Final Fantasy IV pieces, now called "Fight with Culex", "Victory Over Culex", and "Conversation with Culex" which everyone will recognize as the Crystal Theme. It's wonderful nostalgia and if you play the game itself, it's even better.

This was another of the wonderful CDs I found for $10 at Book Off, and I was not disappointed. I recommend this CD to fans of bouncy, happy music, or those looking for a nostalgia trip with classic Nintendo beats. And of course, it's got Shimomura. The soundtrack is actually considered a rarity now, most online stores do not carry it and it ranges from $30-$80 on eBay.

Reviewed by: Damian Thomas