Star Ocean: Till the End of Time OST Vol.2

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KDSD-00004/5
Released On: April 9, 2003
Composed By: Motoi Sakuraba
Arranged By: Motoi Sakuraba
Published By: Team Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Game Music Online

Disc One
01 - Cutting Edge of Notion
02 - Victory Bell
03 - Expiration
04 - Malicious Fingers
05 - Fly Away in the Violet Sky
06 - Frightened Eyes
07 - The Divine Spirit of Language
08 - Pert Girl on the Sandy Beach
09 - Gaiety Company
10 - Evil Shade Crept
11 - Rust Color
12 - Bracing Forest Wind
13 - Let's Creation !!
14 - Bird's Eye View
15 - What's up?
16 - Adventurous Spirit
17 - I am the No.1!
18 - Around in the Wilderness
19 - Robe under Cover of Darkness
20 - So Alone, Be Sorrow - Rhythm Ver.
21 - Preemptive Attack
22 - Moon Base
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Twisted Base
02 - People Inside a Fence
03 - Air Harmony
04 - Bitter Dance
05 - Powerbroker
06 - The Virtual Image
07 - Mission to the Empty Space
08 - Do Evil
09 - Moody Goddess
10 - Highbrow
11 - Star Ocean Forever - Jazz Ver.
12 - Mission to the Deep Space
13 - The Incarnation of Devil
14 - Confidence in the Domination
15 - The True Nature of All
Bonus Track
16 - Moody Goddess (Another Ver.)
Total Time:

When one is playing an RPG, atmosphere is extremely important. Character themes, dungeon themes, battle themes, town themes, overworld themes, cinematic themes, etc are all important to the concept of mood and atmosphere. Volume one of the Star Ocean: Till the End of Time dealt with compositions made with an orchestra, whereas Volume two contains all of the themes that are considered more "in-game" for the lack of a better term. This gamer is a big fan of Volume one and its capability to be listened to fairly easily, which is mostly what I judge a soundtrack by. Volume two does little to disappoint in this area.

The majority of the compositions contain guitars in some form or fashion, and there is nothing wrong with that at all. There is nothing better than going 80 miles an hour down a straight highway while having "The Divine Spirit of Language" cranked up with your windows down. After all, what better represents the hectic pace of interstate traffic than a good, fast paced battle theme? Other songs like Around in the "Wilderness" and "Exploration" are good for the aforementioned activity also. For those who cannot drive yet or are unable to, these tracks (and so many more on these CDs), are wonderful to just listen to anytime. However, there are tracks that are not, such as "I am the No. 1," "Gaiety Company," "Evil Shade Crept" and "What’s Up?" The songs are just great in-game, but out of it, not so much. There are a few Jazz tracks on here for the Jazz aficionado in us all, such as "Star Ocean Forever – Jazz Version" and "Moody Goddess." It’s a pretty well rounded collection.

Another thing I feel is should mention are the songs that Sakuraba tends to bring into every game he composes for and many who have played Star Ocean: The Second Story or Valkyrie Profile would be familiar with. My favorite two are his new renditions of "Mission to Deep Space," with its hard rock make over, and "Star Ocean Forever" which translates pretty well into a jazz composition. However, "Incarnation of the Devil" and "Confidence in the Domination" are not as great in their new compositions as their original incarnations.

If you’re a Sakuraba fan, this is definitely one collection that you do not want to miss. If you’re not, but are open-minded, give it a shot. If you absolutely hate Sakuraba, well, you wouldn’t be reading this review for one, but, if you are, you probably might want to give this a chance.

Reviewed by: CJ Allen


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, January 28 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Ōkami HD
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

Kingdom Hearts Final Mix
Thursdays and Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Persona 5
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Special Feature
Legrand Legacy: Tale of the Fatebounds Review
Legrand Legacy: Tale of the Fatebounds
Finding Paradise OST Review
Finding Paradise OST
Romancing SaGa 2 Review
Romancing SaGa 2
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5 Review
Dissidia Final Fantasy NT
Retro Encounter 118
Retro Encounter 118