4th Super Robot Taisen Powerful Music Battle

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KTCR-1315
Released On: April 26, 1995
Composed By: Noboru Yamane, Shinichi Tanaka, Daisuke Fujimoto, Various
Arranged By: Kazuhito Fujiki, Yoshiyuki Ito
Published By: Kitty Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - TIME TO COME (Arrange Vocal Version)
02 - Scirocco! Gale! Cybuster (Arrange Vocal Version)
03 - Main Theme ~Crossing Time~ (Arrange Version)
04 - Power and Art (Arrange Version)
05 - Valcyon (Arrange Version)
06 - Ending (Arrange Version)
07 - Dashing Char
08 - Mobile Suits Game ~Enemy Plane Invasion~
09 - Silent Voice
10 - The Winner
11 - Mazinger Z
12 - Getter Robo!
13 - L-Gaim ~TIME FOR L-GAIM~
14 - Burning Love
15 - Theme of Combattler V
16 - Stand! Battle Commander Daimos
17 - Go! Zambot 3
18 - Fly, Dunbine
19 - GoShogun Takeoff!
20 - Come Here! Daitarn 3
21 - Brave Raideen
22 - Fly! Grendizer
23 - Scirocco! Gale! Cybuster
24 - Main Theme ~Crossing Time~
26 - Power and Art
27 - Invasion
28 - Prepare for Attack
29 - Valcyon
30 - 100 Light Years of Courage
31 - Requiem
32 - Ending
Total Time:

The first of Kitty Records' three SRT soundtrack releases, this album is an OST/arrange album for Super Robot Taisen 4, which was released on the Super Famicom in 1995. The album marked the first attempt to really market the music to a strategy RPG that bred itself with a multitude of mecha anime. The soundtrack, like the franchise itself, is a copyright nightmare. But it happened, and so far as I can tell, this was the album that really started it all off.

Like its sequel, the soundtrack to Shin Super Robot Taisen, this album has six arranged tracks to open (the first two being vocal tracks), and then it's OST tracks from there on out. The album is most worthwhile for the arranged tracks, which are all great additions to one's VGM library.

The vocal tracks aren't the best songs I've heard in the massive collection of SRT vocal goodness (honestly, who can compete with JAM Project?), but they are still better than most other vocal pieces written and released around this same time in VGM history. "TIME TO COME," regardless of its terrible double meaning, is a fun and enjoyable tune; but it doesn't compare to Cybuster, which is performed by the same vocalist. To me, neither of them are comparable to the great vocals on Shin SRT Powerful Music Battle II, but they're still awesome cheesy/classic songs that capture the spirit of Japanese mecha franchises.

The other four arranged tracks display a variety of styles, but the one that provides the most obvious amount of aural enjoyment is track 3, the rock-hard "Main Theme." Other tracks attempt the whole imperial march orchestra spiel, and I'm not normally a fan of that sort of music, though they do a good job with it. "Valcyon" was also good, but the arrangement wasn't significantly varied from the original, so I wouldn't have minded just having the original and letting them arrange another song.

The majority of the OST tracks are, sadly, SFC arrangements of some old anime themes. All sorts of 70s mecha anime from Go Nagai are represented, and we also get a little bit of Gundam representation. They're all fun and enjoyable songs, especially if you have any knowledge of these oldschool mecha anime themes. Of course, the majority of these songs have been re-made upwards of five times for the different SRT soundtracks released over the last 15 years.

Track 23 begins the ten original tunes on the album. It almost goes without saying that these are more enjoyable than the "borrowed" songs. The styles, particularly synth rock and techno pop, lend themselves well to the quality of the Super Famicom sound chip. It's very different from the sort of music Uematsu and other like-minded composers made during this time, but it's noticeably better than other SFC tunes from the time.

All in all, it's an enjoyable soundtrack, and anyone into the SRT series ought to try and get their hands on this, as it's one of the older and more "classic" albums in the series. Bigger and better things have come since, but there have been plenty of mediocre albums released over the years as well. Thus, this one would certainly be considered a "worthwhile" purchase.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, January 21 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Ōkami HD
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

Kingdom Hearts Final Mix
Thursdays and Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Persona 5
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Special Feature
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5 Review
Dissidia Final Fantasy NT
Retro Encounter 118
Retro Encounter 118
Cyberdimension Neptunia: 4 Goddesses Online Review
Cyberdimension Neptunia: 4 Goddesses Online
The Lost Angelic Chronicles of Frane: Dragons' Odyssey Piano Arrangements Review
The Lost Angelic Chronicles of Frane: Dragons' Odyssey Piano Arrangements
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5 Review
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5