Super Robot Taisen MX OST
Catalog Number: LACA-9037~40
Released On: June 23, 2004
Composed By: Yougo Kouno (JAM Project), Various
Arranged By: Various
Published By: Lantis
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 4 CDs

Disc One
01 - VICTORY (Game ver.)
02 - Machine Robo's Triumph (Machine Robo Revenge of Cronos)
03 - Messenger From the Skies (Machine Robo Revenge of Cronos)
04 - DECISIVE BATTLE (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
05 - NERV (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
06 - ANGEL ATTACK (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
07 - THE BEAST II (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
08 - Both of You, Dance Like You Want to Win! (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
09 - Symphony No. 9 D Minor Fourth Movement (Neon Genesis Evangelion)
10 - Soul Refrain (THE END OF EVANGELION)
11 - Dream Color Chaser (Metal Armor Dragonar)
12 - Enemy Plane Invasion ~ Mobile Suits Game (Mobile Suit Z Gundam)
13 - Judo of Outer Space (Mobile Suit Gundam ZZ)
14 - Segment III SALLY (Mobile Suit Gundam: Char's Counterattack)
15 - The Strongest Evidence ~ King of Heart (Mobile Fighter G Gundam)
16 - Burning Combative Spirit ~ Overcoming a Terrible Fate (Mobile Fighter G Gundam)
17 - My Heart is as a Polished Mirror and Still Water ~ Heavy Palms are Burning (Mobile Fighter G Gundam)
18 - Elegy of the Victors (Mobile Fighter G Gundam)
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - My Mazinger Z (Mazinger Z)
02 - The Hero is Mazinger (Great Mazinger)
03 - King of the Universe Grendizer (UFO Robo Grendizer)
04 - Immortal Machine Getter Robo (Getter Robo G)
05 - Now Go! Robot Army
06 - Awaken, Zeorymer (Hades Project Zeorymer)
07 - Zeorymer, Sally at Dawn (Hades Project Zeorymer)
08 - Stand! Battle Commander Daimos (Battle Commander Daimos)
09 - God and Devil (Brave Raideen)
10 - W-Infinity (GEAR Fighter Dendoh)
11 - Beat of the Shining Blade (GEAR Fighter Dendoh)
12 - Fight! Dendoh (GEAR Fighter Dendoh)
13 - Over the Rainbow (GEAR Fighter Dendoh)
14 - GO! Aestivalis (Martian Successor Nadesico)
15 - The How and Why of Nadesico (Martian Successor Nadesico)
16 - Black Selena III (Martian Successor Nadesico the prince of darkness)
17 - Hemisphere (RahXephon)
18 - the chariot (RahXephon)
19 - quantum corridor (RahXephon)
20 - the second sorrow (RahXephon)
Total Time:

Disc Three
01 - Overture to the Encounter
02 - The Watchdog of Hell
03 - Let's Ignition!
04 - Burning Red
05 - Dancing Blue
06 - Crying Black
07 - Medius Iocus
09 - Forgotten Battle Chime
10 - Ambition Breathing in the Darkness
11 - Memoirs Kept to Yourself
12 - Symphony of the Extremely Great God
13 - Our Desire is For the Good News of Victory
14 - Laughing Devil's Creed
15 - Conflict of Heaven and Earth
16 - Crossroad of Purity and Death
17 - Invitation to the Abyss
18 - All In 1
21 - Bidding the Heroes Goodnight
22 - The New World's Day of Birth
23 - The Earth's Promise (OST ver.)
Total Time:

Disc Four
01 - A Flow of Gunsmoke
02 - A March Toward Tomorrow
03 - A Mirage Called Tranquility
04 - Solving the Equation
05 - Uninvited Stranger
06 - Suspicious Broadcast
07 - This Lost Memory
08 - An Empire of Fools
09 - Operation Start!
10 - Quiet Tactics
11 - The Organization For Conquerors
12 - Tested Strategy
13 - Conductor Full of Injuries
14 - The Path That Continues Toward Chaos
15 - A Mutual Final Method
16 - The Battle Becomes Distant, On Stage
Total Time:

A spiritual successor to Super Robot Taisen IMPACT, MX was released a year after Alpha 2 and a year before Alpha 3. It served to bridge the gap between the two titles for the year, and it managed to be a rather successful title in its own right.

...Particularly, its soundtrack was incredibly impressive.

Most SRT soundtracks are either one or two discs; the only four disc albums printed to date are this one and the Alpha 3 OST (released a year later). So, the quantity is there, and I promise you, so is the quality! It would be a tough call to say for sure, but I would have to say I prefer this album to the Alpha 3 OST.

What is it that makes this soundtrack so great? First off, the selection of anime tunes is downright awesome. We see a whole slew of great songs from Evangelion, some of the best Gundam themes ever written, some Nadesico, and newcomer RahXephon joins the party as well. One can imagine, even without playing the game, how these songs fit; some are used as character themes during battle, others for dialogue and events, still others for special formations and attacks. The older anime, from the 1970s, has some wa-wa pedal guitar parts; and that, my friends, is a joy all its own.

But, as good as the anime music is, and as impressive as it is that they come out so good on the PS2 version, nothing trumps the music composed for particularly for the game.

I should point out that disc 3's music is mostly MX-exclusive, whereas disc 4 is music borrowed from its predecessor, IMPACT. Both of these discs are great, but I'd like to focus in on disc 3 since a lot of exclusive tracks are found there.

A number of the track titles on disc 3 seem to come in pairs. There's red/blue, heaven&earth/life&death, doctrine/gospel (good news), things of that sort. These opposing pairs make not only for good song titles, but also great tunes in and of themselves. I was especially pleased with "Dancing Blue." Another good one, a song that stands on its own, is track 21. Track 22 takes the feel and vibe of 21 but lengthens it and adds some ethereal vocal and strings to the ambient/dance background.

Every song on disc 3 is a winner. That about sums it up.

The last disc, as I said, is a collection of songs originally written for IMPACT. These are great tunes as well, but there isn't a very significant change in the audio quality from 2002 to 2004, especially when it's on the same console. If, however, you have had no experience with IMPACT or its OST, it's good enough just to have these songs right here.

All in all, the MX OST was and is a remarkable soundtrack, one of the best (and most complete) in the entire SRT series. I'm not sure if I should call it "one of the best," as they're all very good. But the added number (and length) of songs is a big sell for this collection.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann