Thousand Arms OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KICA-5023
Released On: February 28, 1999
Composed By: Atlus Sound Team
Arranged By: N/A
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Monologue
02 - Tradgald - Journey to Adventure
03 - Canto - Nostalgic Homeland
04 - Boizubee - Days of Peace
05 - Tebeh Fort - Fort of Protection
06 - Boizubee's Collapse - Morning of Collapse
07 - Hatouba - Ocean Landscape
08 - Ranguudo Town - Cheerful Companions
09 - Inside Ranguudo Ship - King of Pirates
10 - The Sea - The Ship Launches
11 - Jeyal Plateau - The New Continent
12 - All Points - The Station
13 - Mounthand Town - The Train Runs Everywhere
14 - Kanouha - City of the Golden Land
15 - Fugouja - The Golden City
16 - Frightening Region - Holah World
17 - Spirit Forest
18 - Blutt
19 - Zozot Town - The Abducted Monsters
20 - Honey Inn - Horndett House
21 - Miscatonia - The Ancient Land
22 - Miscatonia - Wisdom of Ancient Times
23 - Inside the Ancient Library - Oldia's Memories
24 - Inside the Death Crimson - Cries for Slaughter
25 - Dianouva - The Dark Fortress
26 - Starry Plateau - Wish Upon a Star...
27 - The 6th Sacred Fire Altar - The Light of Hope
28 - Sacred Fire Altar of the Moon - Jet Black Flame
29 - Monologue II
30 - Sodina's Theme - Her Smile
31 - Muuza's Theme - Calling on the Hero!
32 - Wina's Theme - The Girl Dancing in Flames
33 - Soushi's Theme - Twilight Dance
34 - Kyleen's Theme - Rondo of Deception
35 - Nelsha's Theme - Virgin Chick Mode
36 - Cliff's Theme - Meeting a Beautiful Girl
37 - Marion's Theme - Techno Girl
38 - Metalia's Theme - The Eternally Beautiful Girl
39 - Kiss Jiji Theme - The Love Meister of Legend
40 - Bandiger's Theme - Love Mania
41 - Dark Theme - Blank Night
42 - Jella's Theme - Jella's Love Theme
43 - Ratchett's Theme
44 - Theme of 5 Military Commanders - Echoes of the Dark
45 - Emperor's Theme - Dark Prelude
46 - Holy Fire Altar - The Holy Flame
47 - Between the Holy Fire Altar - Blowing the Ancient Breath
48 - Giaman's Attack - Enemy Attack
49 - Mounthand Capture - Capture
50 - Rock Beat - I Love Work!
51 - Eclipsed World - World Destruction
52 - Love Theme (Muuza) - Whispers of the Moonlit Night
53 - Night - Nightmare
54 - Date - Exciting Date
55 - The Blacksmithery - Mystery Meister
56 - Sake Bar 2 - Bourbon Blues
57 - Guts
58 - Sadness
59 - Memory
60 - Plea
61 - Impatience
62 - Anxiety
63 - Danger
64 - Battle 1
65 - Battle 2
66 - Monologue III
Total Time:

Co-developed by Red (Sakura Taisen) and Atlus (Shin Megami Tensei), this traditional RPG / dating sim title that somehow managed to reach the US was one of the most unqiue PS1 titles I have ever played. Atlus was also kind enough to package together a soundtrack CD as part of a limited bonus for Americans who preordered. However, that soundtrack was not the complete soundtrack (though it did include Ayumi Hamasaki's vocals, which this soundtrack lacks). This soundtrack manages to squeeze 66 tracks, the "complete" soundtrack, on one disc. The publishers did this to their own folly, as many of the songs cut off even before one complete loop through: it should certainly have been a two disc collection.

Regardless of this annoyance, the music itself (composed anonymously by the "Atlus Sound Team") is some of the most lighthearted and fancy-free fun you'll ever have in your music collection, should you be able to find this album after being many years out-of-print.

Not that the entire album is a romp through flowery fields. There are plenty of serious and tense themes, especially the near-end-game tunes (track 25 would be one good example of this). However, even with the more intense themes, the synths chosen for the soundtrack retain a feel that is cartoony, even tinny, helping us separate the fantasy of Thousand Arms from the reality of schoolwork, bills, etc.

Throughout the album, voice actress Tomoko Kawakami shows up to give story-related monologues to help guide us through this soundscape. I have sampled her opening track, though I enjoyed all three monologue tracks, particularly because of the enjoyable musical medleys taking place behind the voice acting.

Though the event themes were mostly happy with a spark of diversity in the form of tension, the character themes aren't all super-happy upbeat songs either, and we can be thankful for this. Though Sodina's Theme has synths that make you want to listen to the opening theme to "Doogie Howser," the overall tone of her song is deeply atmospheric and not as peppy as, say, Muuza's Theme. Wina's Theme is much like Jean's Theme from Lunar: Eternal Blue; you expect the latin percussion and the syncopated rhythms, so it's easy to have a good time with a song like that.

If you were looking for the silly songs, Nelsha and Cliff both have the quirky melodies and percussion covered. What kind of title is "Virgin Chick Mode" anyway? Beats me.

My favorite character theme, one that I wish lasted for over a minute, is track 41, "Dark Theme." This is the sort of song you hear in movies about kids taking too many drugs at a club and having a bad trip. In other words, it rules.

The "other" section includes various event and battle themes. Some of the best songs are found in this section. The battle themes weren't entirely impressive, but the "emotional scene" songs (such as "Sadness" or "Impatience") really left a mark on me. I mean that in a good way.

Like I had said earlier about the battle themes, many of the more upbeat songs are less inspired and creative than I would have wished them to be. The slower and more sentimental songs are really what make this soundtrack shine. Such should be expected from an RPG that doubles as a dating sim.

Overall, I have yet to be displeased by anything coming from Red, and Atlus has a pretty solid track record as well. As such, it comes as no surprise that I really enjoyed this soundtrack. Had it been two discs and included the vocal tracks from Ayumi Hamasaki, that would have made it even better. Even so, this soundtrack has value beyond being an obscure collector's item: it is a very decent soundtrack, topping many of the PS2 soundtracks even though it is of the 32-bit era. I recommend this one to all VGM fans, and I highly recommend it to fans of Red and Atlus games.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Ys: The Oath in Felghana
Sunday, April 22 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Persona 4 Golden
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Hylian Highlights Part 3: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Hylian Highlights Part 3: Celebrating The Legend of Zelda

Special Feature
Seiken Densetsu 25th Anniversary Orchestra Concert CD Review

Seiken Densetsu 25th Anniversary Orchestra Concert CD

Kingdom Come: Deliverance Review

Kingdom Come: Deliverance

Retro Encounter 132

Retro Encounter 132

Random Encounter 142

This is Your Story: Share Your Tale!