Tengai Makyou ~ The Apocalypse IV OST
Catalog Number: SSCX-10006
Released On: February 21, 1997
Composed By: Toshiyuki Sasagawa
Arranged By: Toshiyuki Sasagawa
Published By: DigiCube
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - New Orleans
02 - Western House Exploration
03 - Zako Battle
04 - Theme of Red Bear
05 - The Fire Temple
06 - Escape
07 - Wake Up
08 - The Inuit Village
09 - Theme of Miyakorai
10 - A Cave
11 - Camping
12 - Legend of the Lithograph
13 - The Inuit Banquet
14 - The End of Red Bear
15 - Anger of RAIJIN
16 - Separation with Mewlie
17 - Theme of Zengo
18 - The Great Holy Ghost
19 - Theme of Ashimoto
20 - Suffering
21 - Portland
22 - Jipang Park
23 - Salacious Zengo
24 - Theme of Candy
25 - Anger of Yoh-Noh
26 - Candy Town
27 - Underground
28 - The Mysterious Mouse
29 - Lake Taho
30 - Theme of Mantoh
31 - House of RAIJIN
32 - Reunion with Yumemi
33 - Union Square
34 - Chinatown
35 - Jipang Town
36 - Dance with the Geisha
37 - Hunter Guild
38 - The Dagrace Trap
39 - Escape from Alcatraz
40 - G-Robot March
41 - Hollywood
42 - The Slums
43 - Entry of the Villain
44 - Anger of Yumemi
45 - Something Like Solitude
46 - Goblin Hunter
47 - The Dark Town
48 - Saloon
49 - Ojikura Manju
50 - Western Village
51 - OK! Farm Duel
52 - Theme of Ace
53 - Supper
54 - Tactics Conference
55 - Appétit Castle
56 - Rising Sun
57 - Cursed Grandma
58 - George Glosery
59 - Good Night Rizing...
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Zako Battle 2
02 - Nature
03 - Theme of the Sun Crusaders
04 - Alamo Fort
05 - Alamo Takeoff!
06 - Hill Road of the Country Border
07 - Theme of Bob
08 - The Dark Church
09 - Curator of Romero
10 - Dark Opera
11 - The "Day of Deceased" Feast
12 - Pyramid Dungeon
13 - Determination of Yoh-Noh
14 - Mid-Boss Battle
15 - Sorrow of Yoh-Noh
16 - Afterwards Battle
17 - Collapsed Town
18 - Houston Base
19 - The Skull Tank
20 - Alamo Attacked by the Death God
21 - Goblin Hunter 2
22 - Blue Disease
23 - Something Strange!
24 - Theme of NPC
25 - Pop-Up Dungeon
26 - Picture Book of John
27 - Hi-Tech Village
28 - Himon Appears
29 - The Holy Altar
30 - Adam
31 - Lily Youth Ship
32 - Fly to Bimahna
33 - Caroube Castle
34 - The Twelve Apostles Battle
35 - Dark Exercises
36 - To the Last End
37 - Dungeon in the Memories of Zengo
38 - Theme of Seiya
39 - Ruined New Orleans
40 - Memphis
41 - Yumemi Awakes
42 - The Dark Temple
43 - A True Friend
44 - The Elegant Dance
45 - Battle with the Absolute God
46 - Ending
47 - Overture (Symphonic Suite)
48 - Yoh-Noh (Symphonic Suite)
49 - Seiya (Symphonic Suite)
50 - Yumemi (Symphonic Suite)
51 - RAIJIN (Symphonic Suite)
Total Time:

One day while browsing Square & Musique, I decided to check out the newly created DigiCube section and while I looked quickly, I noticed a soundtrack I’ve never heard about...Tengai Makyou ~ The Apocalypse IV...Catalogue number SSCX-10006. Then I asked myself: “What in the world is this?!” Not long after, I was contacted by the eBay seller m-2 for one of his auctions I’d won. He had offered that he could find any soundtrack I’d wanted off of Yahoo Japan Auctions. It was too good to resist, so I had given him a list that included other extremely rare soundtracks like Treasure Hunter G and All Sounds of SaGa. Trusting recommendations from Chudah, I chose to throw this unknown mystery in the list. About 3 weeks later, I got an email from m-2 confirming he managed to get all of the soundtracks I had listed. Needless to say, I was breath-taken by the amazing news. About a month later, I received the package; my heart was racing: a few of those soundtracks were ones I had been searching after for years, and finally, they were all laying before me. Of course, Tengai Makyou ~ The Apocalypse IV was the first soundtrack I popped in my CD player.

Through the first play-through, I thought it was alright. After a second listen… I quickly began to spot my favorites in the mix. Afterwards, this OST quickly grew on me. So who composed this oddity? Some guy named Toshiyuki Sasagawa. Sounds familiar? Didn’t think so, although I believe he may be the main Tengai Makyou series’ composer, since he had a hand in the equally excellent Tengai Makyou Zero soundtrack for the SFC. In the case of Tengai Makyou ~ The Apocalypse IV, it saw the light of day on the doomed Sega Saturn. And to those that are fortunate enough to own a Saturn, you know the synth quality is as high as those last generation PSX titles. No joke here; the sound, composition and musical variety is so high that it feels as if the music were ahead of its time.

Sasagawa seems to concentrate his themes here on three distinct styles: techno, rock and atmospheric music. But there’s more than that! for example: the opening theme “New Orleans” seems to be comprised of accordions, harmonica and flutes, which is really something you don’t hear often in RPG scores. It is overall a quiet opening theme, but a good one nonetheless. The Battle Themes are a mixed bag; some tend to be good, while others seem too lighthearted. One of the more lighthearted is easily the first “Zako Battle”; it actually sounds more mischievous than anything, but I can imagine it fits the game’s animated battle sequences really well. The important boss theme “The Twelve Apostles Battle” sounds extremely epic and serious, as organs and techno beats are used to give a sense of danger and help visualize a tough, but still fair battle. The final battle, entitled “Battle with the Absolute God”, sounds fairly decent with the extensive use of organ and flute samples. It sounds evil enough despite the slight lightheartedness of the theme. For town themes and dungeon themes, they often fit into the atmospheric category. “Hollywood” sounds especially stylish, from the 1950’s lounge jazz music; smooth piano and saxophone are what make up the most of this track, which makes it stand out from the rest. “The Inuit Village” has tribal drums and a bit of flute, which sounds typical for such an area, but the solo flute in the middle of the piece gives it an original flair. This soundtrack also has a decent share of oriental themes, such as “Dance with the Geisha” which uses a bit of flute and a bit of shamisen (an ancient Japanese lute) and “Chinatown” which obviously has the eastern sound all over it, yet they still don’t sound quite typical as most RPG scores. We are fortunate enough to have a few orchestral arrangements of several tracks at the end of the soundtrack, all of which are expertly performed.

So in conclusion, I believe this soundtrack has a lot of originality to offer, be it quiet to slightly goofy themes to oriental themes. However, coming across this soundtrack is no easy task. Yahoo Japan Auctions seems to be the place to go for such an obscure soundtrack. I got mine for about $50, which is a fairly good price.

Reviewed by: Dragon God


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, June 17
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Detroit: Become Human • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

LoH: Trails in the Sky The 3rd • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Our Favorite Features: Part Two ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

Our Favorite Features: Part Two

20th Anniversary Feature
Sound of Drop -fall into poison- Review

Sound of Drop -fall into poison-

GreedFall E3 Impressions


Sound of Drop - fall into poison - Official Soundtrack Review

Sound of Drop - fall into poison - Official Soundtrack

Retro Encounter 140

Retro Encounter 140

The Surge 2 Hands-On Preview

The Surge 2

Hands-On Preview