Valkyrie Profile 2 -Silmeria- OST Vol.1 Alicia Side
Catalog Number: KDSD-00102/3
Released On: July 12, 2006
Composed By: Motoi Sakuraba
Arranged By: Motoi Sakuraba
Published By: Team Entertainment
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Overture to the Destiny
02 - To the Eternal Land
03 - The Chosen Confusion
04 - Alms for The Small One
05 - Divine View
06 - Sank Memories
07 - A Motion of Finishing Blow
08 - Bore The Fatal Hour
09 - Sank Memories, More Deep
10 - At Peace with Extinction
11 - The Rebellious Spirit of A Serene Mind
12 - Under the All-Powerful Divine Protection
13 - The Light Which Shall be Bestowed
14 - The Shadow That Speaks to the Darkness
15 - Indescribable Grief
16 - Public Peace and Soft Sunlight
17 - Purse The Awful Mystery
18 - Never Surrender
19 - Blossom Out for You
20 - The Meditation of Many Years
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - A Huge Eliminator
02 - Vagrancy
03 - Raid The Mighty Force
04 - A World Supported by Emotion
05 - Indivisible History
06 - Disturb The Doubtful Sleep
07 - Invading Suspicion
08 - The Sorrow of Fleeting Wisdom
09 - The Death of an Idea
10 - Junk Modulation
11 - One Error Begets Another
12 - The Wavering of Another Age
13 - Life Which Desires Death and Death Which Desires Life
14 - Celestial Troupe
15 - The Chance That Becomes an Inevitability
16 - The Infinite Abyss
17 - Endless High-Speed Running
Total Time:

The preorder bonus: a box capable of holding both OSTs, as well as the Arrange and Voice Mix Albums.

The Valkyrie Profile -Silmeria- OST was split into two soundtracks. The first of the two is titled Volume 1: Alicia Side. Composed by Motoi Sakuraba, it combines a full orchestra with a familiar progressive rock front on some of the more "action" based tracks. Two CDs long, the album starts off with Overture to the Destiny, a quiet piece played entirely upon a xylophone. Track two continues the quiet start. It reminds me quite a bit of the opening credit sequence in Valkyrie Profile -Lenneth- actually. This is most likely intentional as the two games share the same composer. In fact, throughout the entirety of the soundtrack, one can hear a few familiar strains of melody from Lenneth.

Sakuraba makes great use of all the instruments he's given, alternating between the sweeping but soft and almost ethereal sounds of the first two tracks to the third one, The Chosen Confusion. I have not yet played this game, but I imagine it is one of the pieces that plays during a town visit. It has a somewhat Germanic sound, which fits well with the kind of atmosphere the towns of Valkyrie Profile tends to have. It is not until track seven that the listener gets its first real "battle" theme. Like most of the "battle" themes that follow this, A Motion of Finishing Blow, is quickly paced, dramatic and brassy. It provides a welcome injection of energy after dealing with some of the slower pieces in the beginning. From here till the end of the album, the soundtrack fluctuates between intense "battle" type music and a lighter more ethereal sound that would fit best for slower cut scenes or traveling music.

It is not until CD 2 that the "progressive rock" makes itself known. Of particular note, they are tracks six (Disturb the Doubtful Sleep), ten (Junk Modulation), fourteen (Celestial Troupe), and track seventeen (Endless High-Speed Running). Out of these four tracks, my personal favorite is Celestial Troupe. Like the other "rock" tracks, it's high energy, fast almost to the point of frantic in some places and the guitar work is just brilliant. This is definitely the kind of music one might except during a Boss Battle.

Having not actually played the game, I do not understand why they choose to separate the soundtracks, but considering the length of games these days, it doesn't really surprise me if there is just so much music that it would have been easier for them to split it into two CD sets instead of one 4 CD set. That said, I think Mr. Sakuraba did a fantastic job of bringing in the style of music that most gamers are familiar with from Valkyrie Profile -Lenneth- and taking it in a different direction that marks this soundtrack both unique yet also a spiritual heir to the original.

Reviewed by: Rebecca Cheng


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, June 24
The Misadventures of Tron Bonne • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Detroit: Become Human • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Our Favorite Features: Part Three ~ An RPGFan 20th Anniversary Feature

Our Favorite Features: Part Three

20th Anniversary Feature
Little Dragons Café Hands-On Preview

Little Dragons Café

Hands-On Preview
Shadows: Awakening Preview

Shadows: Awakening

Cyberpunk 2077 Preview

Cyberpunk 2077

Retro Encounter 141

Retro Encounter 141