Game Sound Legend Series: Apollon Game Music Box ~Memorial Sound of Wizardry~
Catalog Number: SCDC-00509~14
Released On: July 26, 2006
Composed By: Kentaro Haneda, Ikuro Fujiwara
Arranged By: Kentaro Haneda, Tamiya Terashima
Published By: Happinet
Recorded At: Various
Format: 6 CDs

Disc One: We Love Wizardry
01 - Opening
02 - Castle
03 - Gilgamesh's Tavern
04 - Adventurer's Inn
05 - Boltac's Trading Post
06 - Temple of Cant
07 - Edge of Town
08 - Dungeon
09 - Camp
10 - Fight
11 - Exterminated
12 - Werdna
13 - Complete
Total Time:

Disc Two: Suite Wizardry II ~ Legacy of Llylgamyn
Synthersizer Orchestra Version
01 - Opening Theme
02 - Legacy of Llylgamyn
03 - Gilgamesh's Tavern Second Scene
04 - Boltac's Trading Post Corner
05 - Edge of Town II
06 - Dungeon's Theme II
07 - All Is Dead ~Requiem~
08 - Temple of Cant Second Scene
09 - Camp Field
10 - Fighting Sights
11 - Rest of Adventurer's Inn
12 - L'Kbreth
13 - Ending Theme
Original Version
14 - Legacy of Llylgamyn / Game Original Sound Story
Sound Effect Collection
15 - A
16 - B
17 - C
18 - D
19 - E
20 - F
21 - TRAP (Poison Needle)
22 - TRAP (Gas Bomb)
23 - TRAP (Crossbow Bolt)
24 - TRAP (Exploding Box)
25 - TRAP (Stunner)
26 - TRAP (Teleporter)
27 - TRAP (Mage Blaster)
28 - TRAP (Priest Blaster)
29 - TRAP (Alarm)
Total Time:

Disc Three: Suite Wizardry III ~ Knight of Diamonds
01 - Knight of Diamonds -Opening Theme-
02 - Llylgamin Castle
03 - Gilgamesh's Tavern Third Scene
04 - Adventurer's Inn III
05 - Boltac's Trading Post III
06 - Temple of Cant III
07 - At Edge of Town
08 - Dungeon's Theme III
09 - In a Camp
10 - Fighting Theme
11 - No One is Alive -Exterminated-
12 - Knight of Diamonds -Ending Theme-
Total Time:

Disc Four: Wizardry Gaiden I ~ Suffering of the Queen
01 - Wizardry~Suffering Of The Queen -Opening Theme-
02 - Fugue of the Castle
03 - Training Ground~Adventurer's Inn
04 - Gilgamesh's Tavern
05 - Boltag's Trading Post
06 - Dungeon I
07 - Temple Of Cant
08 - Honor And Death
09 - Dungeon II
10 - Combat
11 - Wizardry~Suffering Of The Queen -Ending Theme-
12 - Suffering Of The Queen Game Original Sound Medley
Sound Effect Collection
13 - Sound Effect Collection A
14 - Sound Effect Collection B
15 - Sound Effect Collection C
16 - Sound Effect Collection D
17 - Sound Effect Collection E
18 - Sound Effect Collection F
19 - Sound Effect Collection G
20 - Sound Effect Collection H
21 - Sound Effect Collection I
22 - Sound Effect Collection J
23 - Sound Effect Collection K
24 - Sound Effect Collection L
25 - Sound Effect Collection M
26 - Sound Effect Collection N
27 - Sound Effect Collection O
28 - Sound Effect Collection P
29 - Sound Effect Collection Q
30 - Sound Effect Collection R
30 - Sound Effect Collection S
30 - Sound Effect Collection T
30 - Sound Effect Collection U
30 - Sound Effect Collection V
35 - (untitled)
Total Time:

Disc Five: Suite Wizardry V ~ Heart of the Maelstrom
01 - Wizardry V Opening Theme
02 - Preparing for Battle
03 - Going Into the Labyrinth
04 - Information Gathering
05 - Battle and Victory
06 - Time for Rest
07 - Road to Total Destruction
08 - Cant Temple and Castle
09 - Deep Into the Heart of the Maze
10 - Sohn's Theme
11 - Wizardry V Ending Theme
Total Time:

Disc Six: Wizardry CD Drama I ~ Quest For Hrathnir
01 - Monster Allocation Center
02 - Fortress City
03 - Basement 4th to 9th
04 - Labyrinth, the Bottom Floor
05 - Epilogue
Total Time:

Happinet (formerly Scitron) started releasing a decent amount of reprinted VGM albums in late 2005. Some would be strict reprints, others would come as more "complete" albums with additional tracks, or covering newer releases in a franchise. This trend had a name: the "Game Sound Legend" series.

One of the larger releases was 2006's Apollon "Memorial Sound of Wizardry" box, featuring the six albums Apollon printed for the Wizardry series (later Wizardry albums would be printed by Columbia and Team Entertainment). All of the "Suite" albums for Wizardry I~V are present (IV never got one). In place of Wizardry IV, Wizardry Gaiden I is put in place (the later Gaidens are Columbia's territory). Then, disc 6 is a random surprise: "Wizardry CD Drama I." The cute thing here is that a CD Drama II never happened. Perhaps one was planned under Apollon's publishing, but after the rights were handed to Columbia for future soundtrack publishing, a second drama album never came to pass.

That's the history behind the box. Next, let's talk packaging. Basically, the six albums come in a cardboard box, and each of the six albums are printed in a manner virtually identical to their original counterparts (release dates and catalog info being changed, of course). Simple, yet effective packaging is always a plus; but still, I would've liked to see something more with this set.

The music itself...well, it just so happens that I've reviewed each and every album in this box separately. So if you want more detailed descriptions, you can feel free to look up those reviews here on RPGFan's site. A brief description goes like so: Wizardry III has my favorite music, because Haneda just did an excellent job with it. Wizardry II is the worst of the "music" discs, and obviously, I don't care much for the drama album. The first Wizardry album is good for the sake of posterity and nostalgia, but Haneda has done better. Terashima is an excellent arranger on Wizardry V, and while Ikuro Fujiwara takes a slightly different approach to the music in the Wizardry Gaiden series, Wizardry Gaiden I isn't a bad album by any means.

All in all, if you're looking for a decent set of orchestra music that is synthesized rather than performed live by real people holding real instruments, this is one of the first items you ought to look into purchasing. Yeah...you'd have to have very particular tastes to want something like that. Either that, or you were a fan of the Japanese Wizardry titles.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, June 24
The Misadventures of Tron Bonne • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Alundra • 12pm PDT/3pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Detroit: Become Human • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
Guild Wars 2 • 7pm PDT/10pm EDT

Ys VIII: Lacrimosa of Dana • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Little Dragons Café Hands-On Preview

Little Dragons Café

Hands-On Preview
Shadows: Awakening Preview

Shadows: Awakening

Cyberpunk 2077 Preview

Cyberpunk 2077

Retro Encounter 141

Retro Encounter 141

Kingdom Hearts III Hands-On Preview

Kingdom Hearts III

Hands-On Preview