Wizardry Gaiden I ~ Suffering of the Queen
Catalog Number: APCG-4009
Released On: July 21, 1991
Composed By: Ikuro Fujiwara
Arranged By: Ikuro Fujiwara
Published By: Apollon
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Wizardry~Suffering Of The Queen -Opening Theme-
02 - Fugue of the Castle
03 - Training Ground~Adventurer's Inn
04 - Gilgamesh's Tavern
05 - Boltag's Trading Post
06 - Dungeon I
07 - Temple Of Cant
08 - Honor And Death
09 - Dungeon II
10 - Combat
11 - Wizardry~Suffering Of The Queen -Ending Theme-
12 - Suffering Of The Queen Game Original Sound Medley
Sound Effect Collection
13 - Sound Effect Collection A
14 - Sound Effect Collection B
15 - Sound Effect Collection C
16 - Sound Effect Collection D
17 - Sound Effect Collection E
18 - Sound Effect Collection F
19 - Sound Effect Collection G
20 - Sound Effect Collection H
21 - Sound Effect Collection I
22 - Sound Effect Collection J
23 - Sound Effect Collection K
24 - Sound Effect Collection L
25 - Sound Effect Collection M
26 - Sound Effect Collection N
27 - Sound Effect Collection O
28 - Sound Effect Collection P
29 - Sound Effect Collection Q
30 - Sound Effect Collection R
30 - Sound Effect Collection S
30 - Sound Effect Collection T
30 - Sound Effect Collection U
30 - Sound Effect Collection V
35 - (untitled)
Total Time:

The three "Wizardry Gaiden" RPGs released on the original Game Boy each received an arranged soundtrack. Of the three, the first one had a soundtrack printed by Apollon (the others were from Columbia), and this is also the only one to contain original audio samples alongside the typical arranged tracks.

I'm going to work backwards through the tracklist. Starting with track 35, this is an untitled bonus track that is seven minutes long but only contains four minutes of music (the last three minutes are silent). I don't recognize the origin of the melody, but one can assume it is another song from the game.

Tracks 13 to 34 are each five seconds long, and they are a sum total of 22 sound effects from the game "Suffering of the Queen" (though it's likely they were re-used in the other Wizardry Gaidens). For Game Boy sound effects, they're pretty well made, so whoever designed them was probably proud to have them put on the disc.

Track 12 is a 16 minute medley of original Game Boy synth music from Wizardry Gaiden I. Though the arranged portion of the album is good, it's a lot of the some sort of stuff found in Gaidens II and III (though this album tends to be more classical than rock). In contrast, the original music medley is unique to this album, and for those of you who love GameBoy synth, the medley is fantastic! I only wish it were longer (and had separate tracks). In terms of compositional quality, it's up there with "All Sounds of SaGa," and is another tribute to how good music can sound on such limited hardware!

So, yes, the majority of the album, the "meat" if you will, is the range of tracks spanning from 1 to 11. These are the arranged songs, and they are certainly something enjoyable. "Training Ground ~ Adventurer's Inn" includes some lovely music from some strings, as does "Honor and Death," a song that rivals many of the better Dragon Quest pieces.

The most un-orchestral piece is track 10, "Combat." In the same way that the orchestral numbers can pass the "Dragon Quest" test, so this song passes the "early Falcom" test. I could very well imagine the JDK Band performing this song just the way it sounds on this album. For you more "oldschool" VGM fans, it's something akin to heaven.

Wizardry Gaiden I is the only one of the three Wizardry Gaiden albums on the Wizardry Box Set (obviously, because said box was printed by Apollon). So if you want this album but can't find it in its original form, fear not, because you can find it in the limited edition six-disc print found on VGMworld.com and other online retailers.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Phantasy Star II
Sunday, December 17 • 10am PST/1pm EST

[on break]
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Phantasy Star II
Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

Final Fantasy VI
Thursdays and Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Xenoblade Chronicles 2
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Special Feature
Lydia Review
Retro Encounter 113
Retro Encounter 113
Finding Paradise Review
Finding Paradise
.hack//G.U. Last Recode Review
.hack//G.U. Last Recode
Valkyrie Anatomia -The Origin- Soundtrack Review
Valkyrie Anatomia -The Origin- Soundtrack