Xenogears OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SSCX-10013 (reprint SQEX-10043/4)
Released On: March 1, 1998 (reprint February 23, 2005)
Composed By: Yasunori Mitsuda
Arranged By: Yasunori Mitsuda, Petar Liondev
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
01 - Dark Daybreak
03 - Bonds of Sea and Flame
04 - My Village is Number One
05 - Valley Where the Wind is Born
06 - Faraway Promise
07 - Steel Giant
08 - The Blackmoon Forest
09 - Where the Egg of Dreams Hatches
10 - Dozing Off (Short Version)
11 - Dazil, Town of Burning Sands
12 - Aspiration
13 - Graf, Emperor of Darkness
14 - Fuse
15 - After the Soldiers' Dreams
16 - Unstealable Jewel
17 - Aveh, The Ancient Dance
18 - Invasion
19 - Stage of Death
20 - In a Dark Slumber...
21 - The Gentle Breeze Sings
22 - Our Wounded Bodies Shall Advance Towards the Light
23 - lost... Broken Shards
24 - Thames, Spirit of the Men of the Sea
25 - The Blue Traveler
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - In a Prison of Repose and Regret
02 - Jaws of Ice
03 - Crimson Knight
04 - October Mermaid
05 - The Wind Calls to Shevat in the Blue Sky
06 - The Sky, the Clouds, and You
07 - A Gathering of Stars in the Night Sky
08 - Tears of the Stars, Thoughts of the People
09 - Flight
10 - Wings
11 - Solaris, Celestial Paradise
12 - Dozing Off (Long Version)
13 - The One Who is Torn Apart
14 - A Prayer For the Joy Man Desires
15 - Omen
16 - Awakening
17 - The One Who Bares Fangs at God
18 - The Beginning and the End
19 - SMALL TWO OF PIECES ~Broken Shards~
Total Time:

[back cover]
The DigiCube print had a regular and limited edition. This is the packaging for the limited edition.

Xenogears has been considered by many to be the greatest RPG ever, and likewise, its soundtrack has been held to an equal level of esteem. Yasunori Mitsuda's talent considerably shows in this soundtrack, which is chock full of tracks, each harboring some new and original styles. Despite the fact that I originally obtained this soundtrack via a package deal, I'm incredibly glad that it found its way into my collection.

One thing that enthralls me about this soundtrack is Mitsuda's ability to musically invoke, within my mind, clear images from the game. Each track's style is so distinct that I am able to recall exactly which point in the game each one was used. I especially enjoyed the dark, foreboding feel of "Omen," the theme music of Xenogears' Babel Tower. The contrast of emotions displayed in the soundtrack are equally amazing. It includes tracks such as one of my favorites, "Solaris, Celestial Paradise," which is a quirky and lighthearted melody, but contrasts that emotion with one of tension and excitement, like that found in "Crimson Knight."

I'd recommend the Xenogears OST to anyone who is a fan of Mitsuda's style, because this soundtrack is most certainly his greatest achievement, and a great addition to any collection. Although fans who haven't played the game might not fully enjoy it, if you have played Xenogears, this soundtrack is certainly a must have. Unfortunately, at this time, this OST is pretty rare, and is no longer stocked in many online stores. eBay would probably be the best place to obtain this item.

Reviewed by: Jesse Jones

Boldly going where I've never gone before, this is my first experience with Mitsuda's musical style. Having heard numerous times, that Xenogears has the best RPG soundtrack of all time, I felt I had to witness this myself. Does it live up to the claim? Well, yes and no. Considering that I've never experienced the actual game myself, it's difficult for me to fully appreciate the soundtrack. It's like being given a can of pie filling and told to eat it, and being expected to enjoy it as if it were a freshly baked pie.

"Light From The Netherworld" was an awesome way of opening the soundtrack. It was my personal favorite song out of the two CDs, with a totally different musical style than I'm accustomed to, and I really enjoyed listening. However, that track did set my expectations high, as the rest of the tracks on both CDs weren't as good in my opinion, but they were definitely great. "Bonds of Sea and Flame" was another one of those exceptional tracks, and what I've heard that is the final boss music, "One Who Bares Fangs with God," was a very moody and fitting track. The final track on the second CD, "Small Two of Pieces," is one of the most beautiful vocal songs I've ever heard, ending the second CD in the best way possible. Overall, this soundtrack was an enjoyable experience, and is highly recommended to any RPG music fanatic, whether you've experienced Mitsuda or not.

Reviewed by: Jason Walton