RPGFan Discord Server

Unpublished Music: Ys & Ys II Eternal, The Legend of Heroes IV
Catalog Number: NW10102400
Released On: February 10, 2001
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Sound Team JDK
Published By: Falcom
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from VGM World

Disc One
Ys & Ys II Eternal
01 - Feena
02 - Palace
03 - Palace of Destruction
04 - First Step Towards Wars
05 - Beat of the Terror
06 - Tower of the Shadow of Death
07 - The Morning Grow
08 - See You Again
09 - To Make the End of Battle (Demo Trailer Version)
10 - Lilia
11 - Apathetic Story
12 - Ruins of Moondoria
13 - Noble District of Toal
14 - Ice Ridge of Noltia
15 - Protecters
16 - Tender People
17 - Palace of Salmon
18 - Companile of Lane
19 - Battle Ground
20 - Mysterious Moment
21 - Termination
22 - Stay With me Forever
23 - Feena
Total Time:

Disc Two
The Legend of Heroes IV
01 - The Legend of Heroes IV: A Tear of Vermillion New Theme "Bonds"
02 - Bonds - A Curse, and the Desire for Freedom
03 - A Tear of Vermillion - Reminiscence
04 - Courageous Event
05 - A Tear of Vermillion - Moeru Ze
06 - Crisis
07 - A Tear of Vermillion - Sadness
08 - Memories
09 - Field 1 - Mysterious Field
10 - A Sad, Suspicious Village
11 - Theme of Douglas
12 - Cabin with a View - The First Village
13 - Colna Village - The Freezing Village
14 - The Shrine of the Four Gods - The Spirits' Shrine
15 - Labyrinth - Tainted Soul
16 - Phildin Mine
17 - Ending 1 - The End of a Fierce Battle
18 - Ending 2 - Avin's Decision
19 - Ending 3 - Tears of Life
20 - Ending 4 - And Then...
21 - Ending 5 - A Tear of Vermillion - A Friend's Smile
Total Time:

One of the three first Falcom Millenium Series double-disc releases, this strange "leftover-miscellaneous" soundtrack struck me as something worth looking into. The other new CDs released were the definitive "New" OSTs for Ys/Ys II Eternal and Legend of Heroes IV...but this one caught my eye, so I bought it.

I don't know what the other albums sound like, but I know I like these. Apparently, these tracks are "alternate" renditions of songs that they made but never used in the new games. They are all highly advanced MIDI music, nothing more...but these arrangements have never been used before...not even close. Not only that, but they're all ENJOYABLE, so it seems like quite the worthy purchase. It looks like Falcom still has the ability to milk Ys music and make it sound new.

So the classic Ys Music is back, but what about Legend of Heroes IV? I'm not nearly as familiar with this music (all I've heard is the piano tracks and Electric Orchestra)...but let me tell you, disc 2 is VERY dramatic, some of the best music to come out of the year 2001 so far. Check out the samples on these, they are just spectacular.

Another special little treat for me personally is disc 1 track 9 (the beginning of the Ys II music). When Ys II Eternal was announced, Falcom put a little 2 minute trailer up on their site, featuring this AWESOME rendition of "To Make the End of Battle". I never thought it would go on a CD, so I kept the movie just for that music. Well, I don't need that file anymore because that track is the music, and it is SWEET! Half way through it cuts out for this neat piano part, and then it builds up really well near the end...it's just all-around great.

As for packaging, the soundtrack is single-case size using the double-disc inside case thing, which breaks really easily. I wasn't happy about that. The Ys music tracklist is listed in English, whereas LoH IV's music was listed in Japanese. The booklet that comes with the CD is only a one page fold-out, and all it has is the tracklist (which is already on the back). That was sort of dissappointing. But the front cover has neat artwork, so that's cool.

One of the newest CDs from Falcom, you can find this CD by ordering it directly from their site (Falcom). Listen to the samples, I guarantee you that you'll like this great MIDI music!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Tales of the Abyss
Sunday, March 18 • 10am PST/1pm EST

On Break
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

MS Saga: A New Dawn
Thursdays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Secret of Mana Remake
Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Tales of Vesperia
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Random Encounter 140
Random Encounter 140
Secret of Mana Review
Secret of Mana
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom Hands-On Preview
Ni no Kuni II: Revenant Kingdom
Hands-On Preview
Retro Encounter 126
Retro Encounter 126
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life Review
Yakuza 6: The Song of Life
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms Review
Hakuoki: Edo Blossoms