The Legend of Zelda: Majora's Mask OST
Catalog Number: 3591566
Released On: 2000
Composed By: Koji Kondo
Arranged By: Koji Kondo
Published By: Nintendo of Europe
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Mysterious Times (Prelude)
02 - Sonata of Healing (Strings Version)
03 - Eternal Legend
04 - Chamber of Voices
05 - Kendo
06 - Fairy Magic
07 - Mysterious Times (Day I)
08 - Jungle Cruise
09 - Deku Castle
10 - Woodfall Temple
11 - Killa Ohmaz
12 - Trader's Song
13 - Mysterious Times (Day II)
14 - Goronia
15 - Freed Souls
16 - Snowhead Temple
17 - Hymn of Storm
18 - Who dares, wins!
19 - Mysterious Times (Day III)
20 - Zora
21 - Gerudo Pirates
22 - Great Bay Temple
28 - Return of the Four
29 - Tatl & Tael
30 - Sonata of Healing (Piano Version)
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - The Arrival (Prelude)
02 - Majora
03 - Sonata of Healing (Kabuki Version)
04 - Dance of the Death
05 - Fast, Faster, Epona
06 - Epona's Song (Romani Version)
07 - Southern Swamp
08 - Salia's Song
09 - Words of Wisdom
10 - Snowhead
11 - Fast, Faster, Goron
12 - Into the Sunset
13 - Great Bay Beach
14 - Ikana
15 - Elpmet Rewot Enots
16 - Mask Battle
17 - Incarnation Battle
18 - Magician Battle
19 - Finale
20 - Zelda's Lullaby
Bonus Tracks
21 - Mysterious Times (Great Bay Party Mix)
22 - Sonata of Healing (Healing Dub)
23 - Eternal Legend (Princess "Z" Trigger Mix)
24 - Salia's Song (Spooky Groovy Remix)
Total Time:

Majora's Mask was the last complete OST released by Nintendo of Europe so far (since then they have only released best of collections with about 10 tracks i.e. very incomplete STs). While the European OST for Ocarina of Time came on two seperate CDs, MM is a 50+4 track compilation on two CDs, featuring all the important music from the game. While some of the short musical cues from cutscenes are missing (compared to the Japanese version) there are four Europe-only remix bonus tracks.

I don't want to go into detail too much about the original sound version. Most tracks loop twice, so you don't have to hit the repeat button too often. If you haven't played the game, you'll probably have some problems enjoying the typical Koji Kondo N64 sound even if the melodies are great; if you have played the game though, you can't help but admire Kondo's work! Some tracks have been taken right out of Ocarina of Time, but that doesn't matter much (I can't get enough of the Zora theme!). What I also like about this OST is that the dungeon tracks as well as the "Last Day" theme feature well-selected samples from Spectrasonic's "Distorted Reality" sampling CD, my favorite sampling CD ever! The order of tracks was selected in favor of variety over the order they appear in the game, which is not a bad decision at all. Sadly there's no booklet, just an inlay.

But let's focus on the 16 minutes of bonus remix tracks: most of them use the (thin) ingame sound, adding (fat) layers of drums, rhythm and bass lines as well as some effects. Also, the rhythmic structure is sometimes changed to fit the musical style of the remix. All of the remixes are good and enjoyable. "Mysterious Times (Great Bay Party Mix)" as the name might suggest, sounds happy and party-like. "Sonata of Healing" is the weakest remix here, slow moving and with only few variations like fanfares and effects laid over the original melody. "Eternal Legend" is a "4 on the floor" take of MM's overworld theme with some strange quantize effects going on...in the second part a piano plays along with the melody very nice. "Salia's Song (Spooky Groovy Remix)" was already released on the "Lost Tracks". It's a great 4 on the Floor track, and perhaps the best of the four remixes here. As always that's a matter of taste. I agree with Patrick's review of "Lost Tracks" though - those remix tracks are better than the "official Zelda Rearrange Tracks."

So do you need this CD? If you live in Europe it should be easy to find it on eBay, for varying prices. If you already have the Japanese version, ask yourself: "Do I really really need four further remixes of Zelda music?" (Insert appropriate answer here)...____

Reviewed by: Alexander P.


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, January 21 • 10am PST/1pm EST

Ōkami HD
Mondays • 6pm PST/9pm EST

Tuesdays • 12pm PST/3pm EST

Kingdom Hearts Final Mix
Thursdays and Fridays • 3pm PST/6pm EST

Persona 5
Tues-Wed-Thu • 7pm PST/10pm EST
Saturdays • 5pm PST/8pm EST

Featured Content
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Fabula Nova Anniversaris: Celebrating Thirty Years of Final Fantasy
Special Feature
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5 Review
Dissidia Final Fantasy NT
Retro Encounter 118
Retro Encounter 118
Cyberdimension Neptunia: 4 Goddesses Online Review
Cyberdimension Neptunia: 4 Goddesses Online
The Lost Angelic Chronicles of Frane: Dragons' Odyssey Piano Arrangements Review
The Lost Angelic Chronicles of Frane: Dragons' Odyssey Piano Arrangements
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5 Review
Guardians of the Galaxy Episode 5