The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time Sound Track CD

[back cover]
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: 1998
Composed By: Koji Kondo
Arranged By: Koji Kondo
Published By: Nintendo of America
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Title Theme
02 - Deku Tree
03 - Fairy Flying
04 - House
05 - Kokiri Forest
06 - Shop
07 - Battle
08 - Inside the Deku Tree
09 - Boss Battle
10 - Hyrule Field Main Theme
11 - Market
12 - Hyrule Castle Courtyard
13 - Ocarina Songs
14 - Ocarina of Time
15 - LonLon Ranch
16 - Kakariko Village
17 - Lost Woods
18 - Zora's Domain
19 - Great Fairy's Fountain
20 - Temple of Time
21 - Chamber of the Sages
22 - Horse Race
23 - Kakariko Village Orchestra
24 - Windmill Hut
25 - Gerudo Valley
26 - Ganondorf Battle
27 - Last Battle
28 - Zelda's Ocarina
29 - Staff Credits Theme
30 - Minuet of Forest
31 - Bolero of Fire
32 - Serenade of Water
33 - Nocturne of Shadow
34 - Prelude of Light
35 - Requiem of Spirit
Total Time:

For a release as big as Ocarina of Time (a.k.a. the only reason to own an N64), it's no surprise that Nintendo of America published a soundtrack available through special order through "Nintendo Power" magazine. Compared to the Japanese release, this release had some advantages and disadvantages. The first advantage, at the time of its release, was price and availability to US consumers. The album didn't cost more than $15, which is a much better price than any import album. Also, the album looped the vast majority of the songs, so we found songs that ran for 2, 3, even 5 minutes! This didn't happen on the 82-track OST released in Japan.

And, at this point, we see the album's downfall: it is not a complete sound track. Europe got it right by releasing a two disc set, looping the songs and having the complete set list available. Ah well.

As far as music goes, the Ocarina of Time soundtrack (which was the last Zelda title to be done solely by Koji Kondo) is absolutely classic. The N64 sound chip made these songs brilliant and alive, as did the composing style of Koji Kondo. I will forever love songs like "House" and "Gerudo Valley", not to mention the brilliant opening theme melody.

Regarding packaging, the packaging was slim. The insert manual was nothing to get excited about, and the packaging design is scanty. The typical gold backing with the logo up front: it's classic, even classy, but not outstanding.

If you can find this album floating on the online abyss of used items for sale, get it. It's good, and it'll probably not cost you an arm and a leg like import soundtracks do.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann


Twitch Schedule & Status

Sunday, July 22
TBA • 10am PDT/1pm EDT

Digimon Story: Cyber Sleuth • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT

Star Ocean: Second Evolution • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Lunar 2: Eternal Blue Complete • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Kingdom Hearts: Birth by Sleep • 2:30pm PDT/5:30pm EDT
Octopath Traveler • 5:30pm PDT/8:30pm EDT

Final Fantasy IX • 3pm PDT/6pm EDT
The Legend of Heroes: Trails of Cold Steel (Speedrun) • 6pm PDT/9pm EDT

Octopath Traveler • 5pm PDT/8pm EDT

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies Review

Corpse Party: Haunting Melodies

Retro Encounter 145

Retro Encounter 145

Shining Resonance Refrain Review

Shining Resonance Refrain

Detroit: Become Human Review

Detroit: Become Human

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star

Retro Encounter Final Thoughts ~ Lunar: The Silver Star