DOFUS OST 2.0 - Tome 2 -Ignem Inferni-
Catalog Number: N/A
Released On: January 1, 2009
Composed By: Guillaume Pladys
Arranged By: N/A
Published By: Ankama Music
Recorded at: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Ignem Inferni
02 - L'lie de Pandala (Pandala Island)
03 - Les Landes de Sidimote (Sidimote Moors)
04 - Le Labyrinthe du Dragon Cochon (Pig Dragon Maze)
05 - L'lie de Moon (Lune Island)
06 - La Foréte des Abraknydes (Abraknydes Forest)
07 - La Presqu'lle des Dragoeufs (Dragoeuf Peninsula)
08 - Les Champs des Glaces (Ice Fields)
09 - Le Berceau d'Alma (Alma's Crib)
10 - Le Mont Torideau (Mount Torideau)
11 - Les Mines (Mines)
12 - Les Cimetiéres (Graveyard)
13 - Les Cryptes (Crypts)
14 - Ignem Inferni (Final)
15 - L'lle du Minotoror (Dofus 129) [Bonus] (Minotoror Island)BR> Total Time:

Editor's note: Track 7's title is a combination of the words Dragon and Egg, but without an official translation we have opted to leave it in its original French. French track translations were provided by Matthieu Marchione. Thanks, Matt! - Stephen

Admittedly, Dofus is not a game in which I am very familiar. In fact, I did not know anything about the game before I listened to this album. All I knew going in was that it was a French MMORPG and that it had achieved certain popularity in its homeland of France, as well as a growing community overseas.

What shocked me during my research into the game, after I had listened to the album, was the unanticipated use cartoony graphics and the general light-hearted tone of the game. For any of those who know a little Latin, you will recognise the name Ignem Inferni to roughly translate into "Fires of Hell" – not quite in sync with what I had experienced of the game. However, this title suddenly became very apt when I discovered that Ignem Inferni is the successor of another Dofus OST named Lux Aeterna, meaning "Eternal Light". If Lux Aeterna aggregates the lighter music within Dofus, then Ignem Inferni definitely represents the darker side.

A common theme amongst MMORPG music is that it tends to be simply background music, with little to no presence. I can certainly say that this is not the case here. Powerful melodies with a strong focus on strings, which demand your attention, are laced all throughout this 15-track album. I definitely think this album is constructed in a way that tells a story, and it is there if you want to listen. For instance the title track, "Ignem Inferni" (01), for me, evokes images of going off to fight in a harsh war, the outcome of which is revealed within "Ignem Inferni (Final)" (14).

Primarily the album focuses on the use of string instruments, with a backup of percussion and occasional piano, instruments that resonate well with this kind of morose music. However the track "L'lle de Moon" (05) stands out as an exception, as it instead goes for a more tribal sound, making use of the woodwind instruments. It is these sorts of deviances from the pattern that keep Ignem Inferni feeling fresh without losing its overall tone. All in all, this makes for a very satisfying experience.

Ignem Inferni is split into two acts, as well as a short, upbeat bonus track and is available to buy on the Ankama website (along with its predecessor Lux Aeterna). I think those who are fans of well layered, thought provoking classical pieces will find a lot to be had within this album, and as such it gets a thumbs up from me.

Reviewed by: Greig McCallum