Dragon Quest IV ~The People Are Shown the Way~ on Electone

[back cover]
Catalog Number: APCG-4008
Released On: December 16, 1990
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Kenichi Kawano, Yasuyuki Kasori, Haruo Inoue
Published By: Apollon
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Overture
02 - Minuet
03 - Interlude
04 - The Warrior Conquers Alone
05 - March of the Capricious Princess
06 - Weapon Merchant Torneko
07 - Gypsy Dance
08 - The Gypsies' Journey
09 - Town
10 - Casino
11 - Colliseum
12 - Homeland
13 - Wagon Wheel's March
14 - Frightening Dungeons
15 - Cursed Towers
16 - Elegy
17 - Mysterious Shrine
18 - Balloon's Fight
19 - Sea Breeze
20 - The Unknown Castle
21 - Battle
22 - Evil One
23 - The Personification of Evil
24 - The End
Total Time:

Only the most educated of video game soundtrack enthusiasts own or know plenty about the Dragon Quest "on Electone" CDs. The "electone" is basically a really nice synth keyboard. In other words, these soundtracks are high-quality synth versions of OST-type music. While the concept sounds great, the product has been known to be way below standard.

None of these tracks are exciting, inspiring, or any other quality that makes music stand out. It's bland...REALLY bland. That's not to say you can't find any enjoyable music at all on here. Some of the samples are calm and relaxing...But overall it's not a great soundtrack. On my hunt to find information on this soundtrack, I could find no more than one site (entirely in Japanese) giving a tracklist, and I could not find a single site with a good scan of the front cover. Based on speculation, I would think that no one has information on this CD because there's really not much to say about it besides "For DQ Collectors Only".

However, we are RPGFan, and we will still cover soundtracks such as these. Now, not that you want to, but if you DO want to buy this, your best bet is on Yahoo Japan Auctions...except you need a Japanese contact to deal with them. I personally purchased this soundtrack on eBay, but I don't think I've ever seen another one since.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann