Dragon Quest V ~Bride of the Heavens~ on Piano

[back cover]
Catalog Number: APCG-4033
Released On: April 21, 1993
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Tomoyuki Hayashi
Published By: Apollon
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD

01 - Overture
02 - Castle Trumpeter
03 - Melody in An Ancient Town
04 - Towards the Horizon
05 - Casino
06 - Lively Town
07 - Melody of Love
08 - Magic Carpet
09 - The Ocean
10 - Monsters in the Dungeon
11 - Tower of Death
12 - Dark World
13 - Violent Enemies
14 - Almighty Boss Devil is Challenged
15 - Heaven
16 - Noble Requiem
17 - Saint
18 - Satan
19 - Bridal Waltz
20 - Overture (Duet Version)
21 - Bridal Waltz (Duet Version)
22 - Make Me Feel Sad
Total Time:

The Dragon Quest "On Piano" albums are known for their simplicity. Though VI and VII bring some complexity to the table, the three albums before it are little more than transpositions from a full orchestra to one instrument.

Dragon Quest V's piano album is, I dare say, the most inconsistent. There are some songs that work extremely well on piano, and others that...um, don't. I was overwhelmed by the beauty of, say, "Monsters in the Dungeon," but underwhelmed only a few tracks later. This hit-or-miss didn't feel right to me, because I enjoy the whole of the DQV score when in its 'Symphonic Suite' form.

We are fortunate, though, that some bonus tracks are tacked onto this album. Overture and Bridal Waltz (the opening and ending themes) are given the "duet" treatment (two people, four hands, more stuff going on). Then "Make Me Feel Sad" ends the album...this was a vocal "image" theme for DQV, and is one of my favorite DQ pieces of all time. The piano version is simple, yet excellent.

Like all the old Apollon-printed albums, you won't find this one with much ease. VGM collectors, specifically the Dragon Quest fans among us, will want to add it to their collection. But I wouldn't pay any more than its original retail price for it, despite its obscurity.

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann