Dragon Quest VI ~The Dream World~ on Piano

[back cover]
Catalog Number: SRCL-2740 (reprint KICC-6328)
Released On: February 21, 1996 (reprint October 7, 2009)
Composed By: Koichi Sugiyama
Arranged By: Tsukasa Tawada
Published By: Sony Records (reprint King Records)
Recorded At: Unknown
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - Overture
02 - Intermezzo
03 - At the Palace
04 - In the Town
05 - Happy Humming
06 - Inviting Village
07 - Folk Dance
08 - Through the Field
09 - Wandering Through the Silence
10 - Another World
11 - Ocean Waves
12 - Flying Bed
13 - Pegasus
14 - Saint's Wreath
15 - Dungeons
16 - Frightening Dungeon
17 - Brave Fight
18 - Evil World
19 - Melancholy
20 - The Saint
21 - Devil's Tower
22 - Satan's Castle
23 - Last Dungeon
24 - Monsters
25 - Demon Combat
26 - Eternal Lullaby
Concert Arrange
27 - Overture
28 - Folk Dance
29 - Another World
30 - Eternal Lullaby
Total Time:

The Dragon Quest VI "on Piano" album featured new arrangements from, that's right, a new arranger. Tsukasa Tawada made a splash on the VGM scene in the mid-90s, and seemed to hit it off well with Sugiyama and other Enix staff. Tawada's arrangements are darker, more complex, and more decorative than his transpositional counterpart (who did the DQ I~V Piano arrangements).

An observation about Dragon Quest VI, on the whole, is that the "standard" themes (which are all variations of the original eight tracks from DQI) aren't as memorable as you'd expect. Something about them feels...fleeting. "Through the Fields," for example, sounds beautiful, but the melody doesn't feel as strong as in other DQ titles.

To make up for the weaker songs in the "standard" selection, the song selection is rather vast. We have 26 songs, plus 4 additional arrangements for "concert piano" (in other words: better arrangements). Altogether, the album works, but there are individual tracks that simply failed to impress me. The "hit-or-miss" of this album annoyed me, but ultimately, I still enjoyed it.

If you're looking for more complex piano pieces for the Dragon Quest series, this may be the best. DQVII is also alright. If it's simplicity you want, you'll want to turn to the first five DQ games' arrangements. But you'll have none of them, truth be told, if you can't shop around. This is an old album, the sort that requires a good scouring to find (that is, unless you pick up the 2009 reprint).

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann