Akumajou Dracula X Chronicle OST

[back cover]
Catalog Number: LC-1609/10 (reprint KDE-CVDXC-OST)
Released On: November 8, 2007 (reprint May 20, 2008)
Composed By: Konami Kukeiha Club, Michiru Yamane, Masanori Akita
Arranged By: Masanori Akita, Yuichi Tsuchiya, Akihiro Honda, Yasuhiro Ichihashi, Michiru Yamane
Published By: Konami Style (reprint Konami Style Europe)
Recorded At: Studio690, Magnitude 8 Post, Les Claypool III, Studio Halfmoo
Format: 2 CDs
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

Disc One
Akumajou Dracula X Chronicle
01 - Requiem
03 - Demon Seed
04 - Divine Bloodlines
05 - Vampire Killer
06 - Cross Fear
07 - Bloody Tears
08 - Cemetery
09 - Dreams of Triumph
10 - Slash
11 - Ghost Ship Painting
12 - Red Dawn
13 - Former room
14 - Tues Deus meus (in manibus tuis)
15 - Stage Clear
16 - Demo Scene 01
17 - Demo Scene 03
18 - Moon Fight
19 - Poison Mind
20 - Demo Scene 02
21 - Dance of Illusions
22 - All Clear
23 - Daybreak
24 - Player Out
25 - Game Over
Arrange Version
26 - Beginning (Crystal ver.)
27 - Cemetery
28 - Divine Bloodlines (Airwave ver.)
29 - Vampire Killer
Total Time:

Disc Two
Akumajou Dracula X Rondo of Blood
01 - Overture
02 - Requiem
03 - Bloodlines
04 - Vampire Killer
05 - Cross a Fear
06 - Bloody Tears
07 - Cemetery
08 - Beginning
09 - Slash
10 - Picture of a Ghost Ship
11 - Op.13
12 - Former room
13 - Dancing in Phantasmic Hell
14 - Stage Clear
15 - Den
16 - Poison Mind
17 - Illusionary Dance
18 - All Clear
19 - March of the Holy Man
20 - Mary Samba
21 - Player Out
22 - Game Over
Akumajou Dracula X Nocturne in the Moonlight
23 - Nocturne
24 - Seranade of Sympathy
25 - Cross Your Heart
26 - Op.13
27 - Cavern of Dark Spawn
Total Time:

[back cover]
Note: this album was also printed and is for sale in Europe. The reprint information is in regards to the European release. This is the packaging for the European release.

I probably shouldn't be reviewing this soundtrack. But I can't help myself.

"Dracula X Chronicles" was released in Japan and North America for PSP. On it was a new, 3D version of "Rondo of Blood," an action-oriented, stage-based Castlevania from over a decade ago. It is not, in any way, an RPG. However, in the game, there were two bonus games. One was the original 2D version of "Rondo of Blood" (also, not an RPG). Finally, there was a "complete" version of Castlevania: Symphony of the Night (ding ding ding! Action RPG!).

Symphony of the Night has been released in multiple formats in multiple regions. But never before had North Americans gotten to play as Maria, access new areas, or hear an English version of the song "Nocturne." Which brings us to this soundtrack.

On this two disc soundtrack, the vast majority of songs come from Rondo of Blood. Granted, Castlevania themes are re-used all the time, so Symphony of the Night fans will recognize plenty of the tunes. But on disc two, there are some bonus tracks that apply specifically to Symphony of the Night (known in Japan as "Nocturne in the Moonlight"). The first is an English version of the song "Nocturne." This version, in my mind, far exceeds the Japanese original, which was fantastic. That would make the English recording ... double-fantastic!

"Serenade of Sympathy" is a soothing piece featuring piano, winds, and strings that swithces from 6/8 to 4/4 in different parts of the piece. Three cheers for Michiru Yamane for knowing how to write some beautiful, beautiful music.

The rest of the album? I'd rather not comment. It's excellent music (as is almost everything from Konami's vampire-slaying series). But most of it isn't RPG-relevant, so I'm going to excuse myself from saying more. I dare say, though, that the full two disc set is worth it for the English version of Nocturne...not to mention all the other great music on here!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann