Falcom Vocal Collection I

[back cover]
Catalog Number: KICA-1042/3
Released On: October 21, 1991
Composed By: Sound Team JDK
Arranged By: Hiroyuki Namba, Tatsumi Yano, Junichi Kanezaki, Hiroshi Shinkawa, Keiichi Oku, Akimitsu Honma, Hayato Kanbayashi, Naoki Watanabe, Etsuko Yamakawa
Published By: King Records
Recorded At: N/A
Format: 2 CDs

Disc One
01 - Too Full With Love (Ys II)
02 - Josephine (Sorcerian Additional Scenario Vol. 1)
03 - No Fortune Teller (Sorcerian Additional Scenario Vol. 1)
04 - Sorcerian (Sorcerian - The Seal)
05 - Lilia (Ys II)
06 - In Adventure World (Ys II - Stay With Me Forever)
07 - Lilia (English Version) (Ys II)
08 - Eyes the Color of Dreams (Ys III - Trading Village of Redmont)
09 - Crossing Into a Distant Age (Sorcerian)
10 - Oath on a Starry Sky (Ys - Feena)
Total Time:

Disc Two
01 - Star Trader (Star Trader)
02 - All Because of You (Sorcerian)
03 - Boys Coming From the Summer Ocean (Ys II - Too Full With Love)
04 - Loving a Girl Under the Moon (Ys II - Lilia)
05 - Alone Battle (Ys II - Subterranean Canal)
06 - Endless History (Ys II)
07 - A Still Time (Ys II)
08 - Smile Again (Ys - See You Again)
09 - Long Long Time Ago (Sorcerian)
10 - Prince of the Wind (Dragon Slayer ~ The Legend of Heroes)
Total Time:

Released the same time as Falcom Vocal Collection II, this two-disc set features half of all the Falcom vocals from 1989 to 1991 (the other half on VCII). With this massive vocal collection of 20 songs, it is pointless to own MANY other Falcom soundtracks if you wanted them only for vocals.

Of specific note is the fact that 3 of the 4 tracks from the maxi-single "Vocal From Ys" are found on this CD (disc 1 tracks 5-7)...unless you REALLY wanted a karaoke version of "In Adventure World", this set will cover that entire single.

You also find many versions of the same song. There are THREE Lilia songs on here (the third is "Loving a Girl Under the Moon"), two versions of "Too Full With Love" (the other version is disc 2 track 3), and I believe there are more.

The Star Trader track and Alone Battle are male vocals, and I really don't like them much. I REALLY don't like them...at all. No, I do like the instruments behind them, but my personal preference is that I really don't like the songs. "A Still Time" is song without lyrics and that is also a male vocal, this I can handle. The rest of the songs are nice poppy female vocals.

"Too Full With Love" is a good favorite of mine. Disc 1 tracks 2-4 are from the vocal disc of Falcom Special Box '89, this is the third or fourth time I've sampled "Sorcerian". Also, this is probably the sixth time RPGFan has sampled "Endless History", just to make sure everyone that goes to this site finds out about how good this vocal is.

So you're a Falcom collection completist and you must have this set...well, like all old Falcom CDs, I say "good luck." No online store will have it, so auctions are your only chance. Enjoy these fine fine samples!

Reviewed by: Patrick Gann