Potion: Relaxin' with Final Fantasy
Catalog Number: SSCX-10051 (reprint SQEX-10073)
Released On: February 21, 2001 (reprint July 19, 2006)
Composed By: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranged By: Nobuo Uematsu, Máire Breatnach, Shiro Hamaguchi, Shiro Sato, Yoko Shimomura
Published By: DigiCube (reprint Square Enix)
Format: 1 CD
Buy this CD from Play-Asia

01 - Tina (from FF VI Piano Collections)
02 - Kids Run Through the City (from FF VI Piano Collections)
03 - Eria, Virgin of the Water Shrine (from FF III Legend of the Eternal Wind)
04 - Melody of Lute (from FF IV Celtic Moon)
05 - Eyes on Me (from FF VIII Piano Collections)
06 - Tenderness in the Air (from FF V Piano Collections)
07 - Fragments of Memories (from FF VIII FITHOS LUSEC WECOS VINOSEC)
08 - Main Theme of Final Fantasy IV (from FF IV Piano Collections)
10 - Leena's Theme (from FF V Dear Friends)
11 - The Successor (from FF VIII Piano Collections)
12 - Music Box (from FF V Dear Friends)
13 - Theme of Love (from FF IV Piano Collections)
14 - Theme of Aerith (from FF VII Reunion Tracks)
15 - Welcome to Our Town (from FF IV: Piano Collections)
16 - Troian Beauty (from FF IV: Celtic Moon)
17 - Dear Friends (Bonus Track)
Total Time:

I was at Kinokuniya, looking for soundtracks in the Final Fantasy section, and I found Potion. Hadn't ever heard of it, and it looked as if it wasn't anything new. However, something told me to buy this soundtrack, so I did. And there was much relaxin'.

Subtitled "Relaxin' with Final Fantasy", Final Fantasy Potion is a collection of the most laid back selections from the various arranged Final Fantasy Albums, such as the Piano Collections, Celtic Moon, Dear Friends, etc., along with a Bonus Track which is a 5 minute piano/flute rendition of "Dear Friends" from Final Fantasy V.

Though the only thing that's actually new is the Bonus Track, this compilation is a solid buy, especially when you've just come home from a hectic day at work or school and just want to wind down with some silky smooth Nobuo goodness instead of scurrying from CD to CD to get all your favorite tracks lined up. All your favorites are there: "Kids Run Through the City" from the FFVI Piano Collections, "Melody of Lute" from Celtic Moon, even a the cool piano rendition of "Eyes on Me" from FFVIII Piano Collections. Do not operate heavy machinery while listening to this CD.

Though I could go on for hours about each of the tracks, you've heard them all before, so I will just mention the Bonus Track, "Dear Friends." A rendition of the original track from FFV, this song is a beautiful duet by flutist Kazunori Seo and pianist Laurent Wagschal. Ms. Kazunori does a wonderful job of keeping the piece calm and soft, while Mr. Wagschal has a definite piano-forte (how long have I been waiting to use that line?). Overall, a very solid rendition of this classic piece.

If you're looking for music to drive/exercise/fight villains to, search somewhere else. If you're having insomnia, or need to relax after a long day, get this CD and pop it into your player. It's worth it just for that, let alone all the great memories it evokes of soundtracks past. A must buy for laid-back Final Fantasy fans. This soundtrack can be purchased at GMO for around $30 after Shipping.

Note: This soundtrack was actually released with a typo...or two. Track 16 from FF IV Celtic Moon is Troian Beauty; but, the CD lists the track as "Rydia." Also, track 3 "Eria, Virgin of the Water Shrine" was never a track on its own from FFIII LotEW, but rather a section of one of the tracks (specifically, the end of track 3: Montage).

Reviewed by: Damian Thomas