Article / News

Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy: Pixel Remaster Series with Remastered FFI–VI

Final Fantasy: Pixel Remaster Logos

During today’s Square Enix Presents presentation, the company revealed an all-too-brief teaser of the Final Fantasy: Pixel Remaster series. The series contains newly-remastered versions of the first six Final Fantasy games. Take a look at the trailer:

A quick look at what we can see of the games makes it clear these are new versions of these classic titles: We can spot things like 8-direction movement, and original sprite work (not those divisive sprites from the previous mobile and PC versions of FFV and FFVI).

We don’t know much more than what is in this video yet, though Square Enix has specified that this isn’t a single collection, but Final Fantasy I–VI will be available as individual releases. As of now, the Final Fantasy: Pixel Remaster series has been confirmed for Steam and mobile (iOS & Android) release, though we would be surprised if it wasn’t confirmed for at least Switch at this week’s Nintendo Direct.

Be part of the conversation and join us on our Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Mike Salbato

Mike Salbato

Mike has been with RPGFan nearly since its inception, and in that time has worn a surprising number of hats for someone who doesn't own a hatstand. Today he attempts to balance his Creative Director role with his Editor-in-Chief status. Despite the amount of coffee in his veins, he bleeds emerald green.

1 Response to Square Enix Reveals Final Fantasy: Pixel Remaster Series with Remastered FFI–VI


Gee what a shocker. Square is doing a Cash Grab.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.