Undernauts: The Labyrinth of Yomi PS5 Advertisement
Article / News

Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.2 “Buried Memories” Announced, Plus More Details on the Island Sanctuary Content

Final Fantasy XIV Artwork of Island Sanctuary

During the latest Final Fantasy XIV Letter from the Producer LIVE broadcast, producer and director Naoki Yoshida announced the name of Patch 6.2, “Buried Memories”, and also revealed additional details about the upcoming Island Sanctuary content. Patch 6.2 is slated to release sometime in August and will bring with it the latest chapter in the Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker story, new battle challenges, system updates, and more.

Final Fantasy XIV Island Sanctuary Content

Yoshida provided fresh details on what players can expect from the new Island Sanctuary content, including:

  • Personal island sanctuaries – Players will be able to build their own island sanctuaries, but it should be noted that this content is a solo experience.
  • Live a rural life – Gather materials, build facilities, care for creatures, and more to create your perfect island sanctuary.
  • No need for previous crafting experience – All Island Sanctuary content will be accessible without needing to obtain previous crafting experience from elsewhere in the title.
  • Special Items – Players will be able to earn island currency, which can be exchanged for a variety of special items.

Everything Coming With Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.2 “Buried Memories”

After discussing the Island Sanctuary, Yoshida went on to reveal all the new content players can expect when the “Buried Memories” patch comes to Final Fantasy XIV in August:

New Main Scenario Quests – The latest chapter in the story continues.
New Side Quests – Tataru’s Grand Endeavor continues.
New Dungeon – The Fell Court of Troia
New Trial – A new challenge at both Normal and Extreme difficulties. Further details to be announced at a later date.
New 8-Player Raid – Pandæmonium: Abyssos will be available in both Normal and Savage difficulties. The Savage difficulty raid is planned for release one week following the launch of Patch 6.2.
New Unreal Trial – Battle against Sephirot in Containment Bay S1T7 (Unreal)
PvP Updates – PvP Series 2 and Crystal Conflict Series 3 will begin with the release of Patch 6.2. Rival Wings will also resume, along with PvP action adjustments.
Further Main Scenario Reworks: – The Duty Support feature will be expanded to include main scenario dungeons from
– Snow Cloak through The Vault.
– The Steps of Faith Trial will be reworked into a Solo Quest Battle.
– Thornmarch Trial will be revamped.
Miscellaneous Updates – Additional content including job adjustments for both PvE and PvP, updates to Adventurer Plates, Glamour Dresser expansion from 400 to 800 slots, and more.

Additional Details were also shared about Patch 6.25, but no release date for the patch was given.

Undernauts: The Labyrinth of Yomi PS5 Advertisement
Undernauts: The Labyrinth of Yomi PS5 Advertisement

New Side Quests – Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures continue in Patch 6.25.
New Weapon Enhancement Quests – Players can obtain and enhance Manderville Weapons throughout the Patch 6.x series, which will unlock through the Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures questline.
New Tribal Quests: Omicron – Disciples of the Land focused quests
New “Variant Dungeons” Battle Content – Previously called “Criterion Dungeons,” players can enjoy this new variable-difficulty dungeon content—beginning with Sil’dihn Subterrane—designed for between 1-4 players, with the difficulty of enemies scaling depending on party size. Dungeons will feature branching routes, which change depending on player action within the dungeon.
Another Path: Criterion Dungeons – High difficulty four-player content, which features a visually similar area to the Variant Dungeons, but will have a set route. The Criterion Dungeon content will feature two options of varying difficulties, each with their own unique set of rules and characteristics.

The Long-Awaited Data Center Travel Makes Its Way to Final Fantasy XIV

Final Fantasy XIV Endwalker Screenshot

The next patch to come to Final Fantasy XIV will be Patch 6.18. This patch will release on July 5th and brings with it the highly requested Data Center Travel feature. This feature will allow players to travel between the different worlds of Final Fantasy XIV before forming parties. However, players should note that this feature will only allow players to travel between worlds within the same physical data center, This means players can’t travel between Japanese, North American, European, and Oceanian data centers.

Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.18 will bring with it some additional changes to data centers, including:

  • New logical data center – Meteor will be added to the Japanese data center, and certain existing world will be redistributed within it.
  • European expansion – The European region will see the first of two major expansions to the number of worlds available in the region’s data centers, meaning there will be more capacity for Final Fantasy XIV players in the region. In total, four worlds will be added, with Chaos Center receiving the worlds of Sagittarius and Phantom, and Light Data Center receiving the worlds of Alpha and Raiden.

As always, there is an incredible amount of content making its way to Final Fantasy XIV. To keep up to date with everything regarding the title, make sure to keep an eye on RPGFan’s news feed as we make sure to cover all the latest on Final Fantasy XIV. If you’ve yet to dive into the latest major content expansion, Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker, make sure to give RPGFan’s review by Caitlin Argyros a read.

Be part of the conversation and join us on our Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Tom Cox

Tom Cox

Tom is a news editor for RPGFan with a love of RPGs, Pokémon, and Zelda! When not playing games or writing, he can often be found hiking with his dog Otto, or patiently waiting for Pokémon Black & White remakes.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.