Article / News

Slay The Princess: The Pristine Cut to Launch Fall 2024

A screenshot of Slay the Princess, showing a young woman wearing a crown with the text 'The Damsel' floating to her left, written in jagged, chaotic letters.

Serenity Forge and Black Tabby Games have announced that their acclaimed horror visual novel Slay the Princess will receive a definitive edition in the form of Slay the Princess: The Pristine Cut. It will launch on PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, and PC this fall. Announced at the Future of Play 2024 livestream with a stylish new trailer, the update seeks to expand its narrative, implement quality-of-life features, and more. Check it out below!

Slay the Princess: The Pristine Cut will include new narrative content, expanding its total story by 35%. It will include three brand-new chapters, new Princesses, expanded story routes, and an entirely new ending. Players will also be able to see their progress through the story with a new gallery that exhaustively tracks their choices and previously viewed scenarios. To complement the undertaking, Black Tabby Games is adding 2,500 new voice lines performed by Jonathan Sims and Nicole Goodnight, 1,200 pieces of hand-drawn art by Abby Howard, and over fifteen music tracks.

The game will also receive localisations in Simplified and Traditional Chinese, Korean, Japanese, French, German, Russian, Spanish (Latin American), Brazilian Portuguese, Italian, and Polish. Beyond that, Serenity Forge has also confirmed that Slay the Princess: The Pristine Cut will receive physical editions for the Nintendo Switch and PlayStation 5, coming in both standard and collector’s editions. The standard edition will include a sticker sheet and digital soundtrack download, while the collector’s edition will receive the following items:

  • Physical copy of the game on Nintendo Switch/PlayStation 5
  • 7” Princess Statue
  • Swinging Arm Action Acrylic Standee
  • Black & White Optical Illusion Keychain
  • Reflective Lenticular
  • Severed Arm Enamel Pin
  • Metal Bookmark
  • Mirror Sticker Sheet
  • Soundtrack Download Card
  • Collector’s Edition Box
Slay the Princess: The Pristine Cut Collector's Edition

Players can pre-order both physical editions from Serenity Forge’s storefront, with the standard edition retailing for $44.99 USD and the collector’s edition retailing for $199.99. They are both expected to ship in Q1 2025. Slay the Princess: The Pristine Cut will be completely free as an upgrade to its PC version and will retail digitally across both console and PC for $17.99.

Slay the Princess was initially released in October 2023. Its latest update came in March of this year, adding 3,000 new words of dialogue, route choices, tweaked endgame scenarios, and musical renditions performed by the Czech National Symphony Orchestra. The game puts players in a cyclical story where the protagonist must slay the princess to save the world. To say any more about it would be a disservice to those wanting to experience it, but we here at RPGFan thought quite highly of it. Feel free to check out our review, penned by Jerry Williams, and our original soundtrack review, penned by Patrick Gann!

Stay tuned to RPGFan for all news Slay the Princess and RPG!

Be part of the conversation and join us on our Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Trent Argirov

Trent Argirov

Trent is a news editor for RPGFan. If not writing news or lending a voice to the odd podcast, he can be seen, in the Australian wild, drinking copious amounts of iced coffee, working on various manuscripts, and keeping the occasional wandering cat company. His video game backlog stretches far and wide, and sources swear he's slowly working on it, one day at a time.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.