Article / News

Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Volume III Coming in May

Prescription for Sleep III Featured Image

Scarlet Moon Records has announced Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Volume III, the 13th and latest album in the long-running jazz series. Featuring 12 tracks, over half of which fall under RPGFan’s coverage, this latest relaxing album is scheduled for release May 19th. Here’s what you can look forward to on the album:

  1. Windmill Hut (The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time)
  2. Theme of Prontera (Ragnarok Online)
  3. Boomer Kuwanger (Mega Man X)
  4. Tristram (Diablo)
  5. This Dream (NieR)
  6. Eruyt Village (Final Fantasy XII)
  7. Yeul’s Theme (Final Fantasy XIII-2)
  8. Traveling in the Town of Hagure (Legend of the Mystical Ninja)
  9. Kraid (Metroid)
  10. Rosenkranz (SaGa Frontier II)
  11. Trading Town of Redmond (Ys III: Wanderers from Ys)
  12. Daybreak (Original)

While it isn’t unheard of to see Ocarina of Time or Final Fantasy anything feature on an arrangement album, these specific tracks and games are pretty unexpected! I am especially curious to hear “Yeul’s Theme,” as FFXIII-2‘s soundtrack is legendary, and I can’t hide my joy at having a Mega Man X song on here. Even the NieR song is a pleasant surprise, as “This Dream” is not one that often (ever?) gets the arrangement treatment.

As always with this series, the album is arranged and performed by GENTLE LOVE, a duo compromised of Metal Gear Solid series composer Norihiko Hibino on saxophone and Etrian Odyssey/Persona Q performer AYAKI on piano. Scarlet Moon Producer Jayson Napolitano had this to say about the upcoming release:

“There was a time when the entirety of the Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies series was laid out before me. I figured we’d release Volume III after our UNDERTALE and Fight for Your Dreams volumes and call it a wrap. We’ve taken quite a detour with several other intervening albums which we hope everyone has enjoyed. With Volume III, we return to the ‘sleep-inducing’ nature of the series and hope we tackled some deep cuts in terms of game and track selection. As always, Hibino-san, AYAKI, myself, and the entire team hope this album and series help you in some way. Thanks for listening!”

It’s somehow been eight years since Volume II released, though in the meantime, Scarlet Moon has released many Prescription for Sleep albums, including Lullabies of Mana, Undertale, Fight for Your Dreams, Stardew Valley, and more. Oh, and all the links in this paragraph have been to our reviews of those albums, so check ’em out!

Prescription for Sleep: Game Music Lullabies Volume III will be available on a multitude of storefronts on May 19th, 2023, all linked on this page. You can sample three of the tracks right now, including Final Fantasy XII‘s “Eruyt Village,” below.

Be part of the conversation and join us on our Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter.
Mike Salbato

Mike Salbato

Mike has been with RPGFan nearly since its inception, and in that time has worn a surprising number of hats for someone who doesn't own a hatstand. Today he attempts to balance his Creative Director role with his Editor-in-Chief status. Despite the amount of coffee in his veins, he bleeds emerald green.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.